We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and charming hotel with spacious & comfortable rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fenicottero Rosa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fenicottero Rosa to your Saves list
Hotel Fenicottero Rosa
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Strada Statale 125 | Porto Taverna, 07020 Porto San Paolo, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Guildford
1 review
“Quiet and charming hotel with spacious & comfortable rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

My wife and I went here for 5 nights on our Honeymoon and were very pleased with this hotel. It was a nice quiet getaway, just 11 rooms meant not many folk to share the pool or breakfast hall with. The nearest beach was lovely, with fine white sand & clear water, and not totally packed, though we roasted whilst walking there.

The restaurant served great food too. Though I'm not sure what was happening with the breakfast coffee - not to my tastes, but the capaccino wasn't bad as an alternative.

The location is not too useful if you don't have a car, it's safe to walk to the beach, but not anywhere else. The staff were very helpful with lifts to Porto St Paolo which is where we went to eat out, and we were happy not to go too far.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
39
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

We just came back from a week at this hotel - i was after an authentic sardinian hotel with all the modern touches you need (air con, hair dryers etc) and this hotel was perfect.
The hotel only has 11 rooms, so is small and very friendly with beautiful grounds and immaculate rooms.

very pretty surroundings, spacious rooms, lovely pool and wonderful staff. Ten mins walk to the nearest beach and fifteen mins drive into Olbia.

We hired a car which I would recommend as although the hotel restaurant is fine it's much better to get out and about in the evenings and see a bit of the island during the day- don't think i saw a single taxi or bus the whole week i was there. having said that the lovely Emanuella at the hotel did ferry us to and from a great local restuarant, Il Fare, one night when we both fancied a drink or two!


Well worth a visit- a great hotel on a stunning island. Make sure you get out to Isola Madellena and Isola Tavolara - they are breath taking and a must see.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary at the end of september 2008. I booked it for surprise for my wife, with flights via ryanair

Booked directly with the hotel, and negotaited a discount even when compared with some booking sites. the hotel website is [-]

What a find...... reviews on tripadvisor did say it was next to a road, and it was (but it did not disturb in any way). it's not a big hotel, something like 11 rooms, all of a high standard

Reviews also made reference to this looking like a motel, it may from the front, but it's a different layouit from the back, with nice gardens and a welcoming pool

We used it for a base, and it's location was excellent. it was only a 20 minute drive from the airport on an island that we can only describe as a stunning island

Rooms

Very comfortable, with good en-suite, sweets on the pillows, dressing gowns, satelitte TV, etc.. and rooms even had air conditioning. This will sound strange, but even on the last day of september and frist few days in October we did use it as it was so warm when compared to the UK (25*c)

Grounds

Very nice and well maintained. a lovely pool with a nice mountain background. Large car park at the front of the hotel

Restaurant

This is the real find....... we have travelled all over the world including 5 star resorts and eaten in some top UK establishments, and this hotel provided without doubt some of the best food we have ever eaten anywhere! We chose half board & this presents excelent value, as the meals were all 4 course with a good choice from the menu.

without doubt, this is one place we will return to, for the comfort, location, hospitality and definately the food.

The only description we can give the food & hospitality is...

I asked before we left if they could do a special meal for our wedding anniversary. I was concerned when i did not geta response, but they were worried if they responded thst my wife may see it and it spoil the surprise. When it came to the special day - despite offering special food or house specialities at ...'no extra cost', they didn't need to, as the quality of food was so high we were happy to stick with the food offered on the menu choice

on arrival for the evening meal they had prepared the table especially, and service was excellent with flowers on the table & food presented in heart shaped portions etc.....


p.s try the homemade ice cream in San Teordoro.... amazing

& we've never watched the italian F1 Grand Prix lying on a beach on a leather lounger drinking cappacino & beer..... just the best


Thank you Annalisa gusseppie and all the staff for a wonderful stay

Tony & Tracey. x

  • Liked — Hospitality & excellent food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen Wales
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

Following checking out the reviews , we were looking forward to going to the hotel, and we were happy we did, e mail correspondance with the hotel was easy, and they booked a taxi for us from the airport(45 euros,a bit steep but worth it),
The hotel is a newish set of buildings , extremely well looked after, our room was quite large, clean and airy, a nice touch was the sweets on the bed for our arrival. The pool area is plenty big enough for the guests and the pool a welcome sight after our flight.Breakfast is plentiful and varied, and the chef conjures up enjoyable dinners.
Emanuela and her family/staff really makes you feel at home and helps in any way they can, this was shown to me that as the hotel is about a mile out of town, we wanted to go into town a few evenings, and after trying to get the staff to book a taxi into town, they would not hear of it, and drove us in their car into town on these occasions , and then gave us the hotel phone No. to phone for a lift back later,not many hotel go that far to help i would think.
The nearest beach is a 15 minute stroll with a nice cafe on the beach for lunch.
In conclusion, a wonderful stay with friendly people, the only gripe I can make is there is only safe deposit in reception and not in the room, also as the hotel is a little way out, think car hire is advisable to get around and see the island, driving is easy and laid back(best i think to book by internet before you go)

  • Liked — The staffs eagerness to please and help guests
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world citizen
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

I did the reservation following the reviews I read here... and in booking.com. It was a disaster. Maybe it was bad luck with the room. We stayed 5 nights.

It's situated right on the highway ss125, so the first impression was horrible.

Our room was really big, but there wasn't a propper terrace, the TV was situated right in the opposite place from the bed, and it was the smallest and oldest tv I have seen in a 4**** hotel. Old Sofa, old blankets.

We had to kill insects in 3 ocations! (beetles and centipedes!)

When we tried to get some info about what to visit, there were hardly NO answers or help to the information asked about where to go or which beaches worth it more... nothing.

We had an indoor terrace with views to the outdoor corridor, no intimacy at all...

Beatiful and comfortable swimming pool.

40 km to Costa Smeralda, around 40 minutes.

For that price I recommend something nearer to Costa Smeralda, like Porto Rotondo (incredible!!)

  • Liked — the incredible swimming pool
  • Disliked — RIGHT BESIDE SS 125, old furniture and poor intimacy in the room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2008

A great time we had at the hotel a few days ago, the Relais Fenicottero Rosa was very very nice , food excellent, pool lovely and the staff were wonderful.
I hope to return again next year !

  • Liked — Pool and food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

Stayed here for four nights in early June. As we were arriving late at night we arranged for the hotel to pick us up from the airport (30 euros). The hotel was only about 20 minutes drive from the airport and when we arrived they kindly directed us to the restaurant where they had a meal waiting for us as we were half board. We had not expected this and we were very pleased they had been so thoughtful.

The half board basis was a good idea as we did not have a car and the nearest restaurants are in the next town 2 kms away. The food was very good, four courses and a good variety of options to choose from. The two young waiters were excellent and always helpful and friendly.

Our only complaint was the beautifuly pool was freezing and therefore we didn't use it. No one else seemed to either. We both enjoy swimming so this was quite a disappointment.

The beach is easy to get to. There is a campsite opposite and you walk through the site to get to the beach. There is a free shuttle down to the beach. The campsite has a good shop to buy water, wine etc should you need anything. The beach is clean and the bay is beautiful. You can also drive down to the beach if you wish.

If we stayed here again we would definately hire a car as the hotel is very easy to find and we would like to explore more of the coast.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fenicottero Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fenicottero Rosa

Address: Strada Statale 125 | Porto Taverna, 07020 Porto San Paolo, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Porto San Paolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Porto San Paolo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fenicottero Rosa 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Escapio, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Fenicottero Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fenicottero Rosa Sardinia/Porto San Paolo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fenicottero Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.