We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned charm, great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cobblestones of Lowell

Cobblestones of Lowell
91 Dutton Street, Lowell, MA 01852
978-970-2282
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cobblestones of Lowell is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 215 Restaurants in Lowell
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Merrimack Street
Description: With most of the original architecture intact, COBBLESTONES Restaurant offers a variety of dining and drinking options, modified for modern use. What was once the "Grand Billiard Hall" is now the main dining room. The original library has given way to a private dining room seating 20 and is adorned with twin fireplaces while the upstairs sleeping rooms have been opened up for two beautiful function rooms. The original dining room, where "the gentlemen" enjoyed a brandy and cigar is now a separate pub with a vast selection of martini's, classic American cocktails, draught beers, and a predominantly American Wine list. COBBLESTONES Restaurant cuisine combines both traditional comfort and regionally inspired American fare alongside contemporary selections. Our many steaks are hand cut and our seafood is delivered fresh daily. All soups, sauces and desserts are made fresh, "in house" every day. Please visit COBBLESTONES Restaurant where our welcoming staff carries on a tradition of excellence and hospitality. Committed to our guest's satisfaction, we will always strive to exceed your expectations!
Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Old fashioned charm, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Set in an old building with classic/traditional atmosphere. Great food. Classic American cuisine and very fresh ingredients. Would definitely recommend...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    41
    17
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
“Staff Needs Training”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Before being seated, I asked the hostess if it was possible to have a table that allowed me to sit adjacent to my dining companion istead of across from her. I understand that this would have required that we were seated at a table for 4 instead of a table for 2. She said it was not possible even though the dining room had lots of empty tables.

The food was good. However,m the timing was poor. We were only halfway through our appetizers when we were preesented with our entres. Moreover, the servers indicated that we needed to move our appetzers aside ourselves so that they could serve the entres.

What is ironic is that our waitress was training a new employee!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I recommend the bar instead of the dining room. Much better atmosphere in the bar. You feel like you need a sportcoat in the dining room. The food is better than average. Craft beer selelction is great. Service is great and when I had an issue management took care of it. They are a little overpriced so I don't go as often as I would like.
I don't understand how people complain about the parking. Lowell is a city, expect to park at a meter or medical lot next door.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Second visit as good as the first”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

First visit was as a couple, this visit was a family event with a party of 8. Same great experience of great food, drink, service and atmosphere. All in our group agree that the steaks are equal to the top steak house restaurants in Boston but at a considerably lower price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Went for Easter Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Went for Easter buffet - food was mostly good. Server was nice. Food was really good, nice choices, really liked the charcuterie which had all sorts of cheeses, olives, meats. Kids loved the breakfast items. The shrimp orzo salad was a nice surprise.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cobblestones of Lowell also viewed

 

Been to Cobblestones of Lowell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cobblestones of Lowell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.