We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wings!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Simply Khmer

Simply Khmer
26 Lincoln St # 4, Lowell, MA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 242 Restaurants in Lowell
Cuisines: Cambodian
Restaurant details
Groton, MA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wings!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I had heard a lot about Simply Khmer so decided to give it a try. My sister and I ordered the hot wings which were out of this world. One order was split. Our second dish was a combination of rice, sliced ginger and seafood. It was equally delicious and enough to share. Not sure if this would suffice for dinner, but for lunch it was plenty.
The wings were flavorful and spicy. The sauce was finger licking good.
I little overpriced, but what isn't.
We will go back for more.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lowell, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Food is good, other things not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This place has good Cambodian food but the food is a little overpriced and the amount of food given isn't all that much. Ordered to go some beef fried rice and the box wasn't even full! It was less than half full. The hot wings are overpriced simply (no pun intended) because they know people love the wings but on their website, it says there are ten wings that come with the order but only eight wings came with the box. Really manipulative. I'd eat here for the experience but to make it a full out place to keep going to... I wouldn't.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrible!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Wow. This place is horrible.
The noodle soup is way too salty. Soup essentially is hot water with chives and salt and more salt.

The egg noodle was way overcooked

Everything was way too salty!!!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Cambodian experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I met up with a friend at this Cambodian restaurant in Lowell. I had a spicy rice noodle with veggies dish that was very good. The texture of the rice noodle takes a little getting used to, and the dish was not as colorful as I expected a dish with veggies to be. But, the spices were great-- for me it was just enough "hot" without being overwhelming. The decor was comfy, with a lot of overgrown houseplants and bamboo reeds allowed to grow into pseudo walls. I was here for lunch and the lunch menu prices were very reasonable for a lot of food. Thumbs up!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Absolutely marvellous, and very reasonable price. Would go back in a shot. I had a mild dish whereas my colleagues went for spicy dishes. They said that their meals were just right and we all spoke about the meal for several hours afterwards, always a good sign!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simply Khmer also viewed

 

Been to Simply Khmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simply Khmer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.