We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beer, so-so food, Great service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lowell Beer Works

Lowell Beer Works
199 Cabot Street, Lowell, MA 01854
978.937.2333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 215 Restaurants in Lowell
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Boston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Beer, so-so food, Great service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

First the good:
The on-premise brewed ales were excellent. As good as any brewery in New England! The double pale ale and the IPA on tap were first class. The pale ale having a very nice "back of the tongue" citrus accent in addition to the aromatic hops.

The bad:
Entrees are prepared with pre-prepared canned spice mixes and the Cajun Rajun dish in particular was loaded with an inappropriate amount of salt. When returned to the cook, it was reported the this was the "norm", yet an excellent replacement was prepared, where it was obvious that the cook did know his craft.

Kudos to the staff and the manager for ensuring a pleasant evening despite this cooking faux-pas.
Truly excellent service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    18
    18
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mishawaka, Indiana
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great craft brewery and restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

It was our second trip to Lowell Beer Works and it was just as I remembered. OUTSTANDING. A very diverse selection of ales and food. The nachos were outstanding.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good selection of beers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Friendly place. We happened to go 2 weeks in a row before a ball game. I enjoy their raspberry ale very refreshing. Great buffalo tenders. Outside seating where you can sit under an umbrella or not. Been several times in the past and find it to be consistent. I like the Cajun chicken sandwich. My husband likes the turkey tips & steak tips. Reasonably priced and I would definitely go again. We look forward to it before a Spinnners game in the summer. Were there the first week with a group then the following week as a couple.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good service, better then usual. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Been coming to this beer works for years. Service usually isn't good. This time we had three different servers so to seemed like they were everywhere. Slow afternoon and he food took a while. Which is prob why my medium burger came out well done and burnt. Yuck. Friends burger came out with a bun instead of without. They said they were "updating their rewards program but they have been saying that since dec. so they don't give out new cards.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Lowell Beer Works is as advertised. Went with a party of six and 4 of us ordered the Charleston Burger which is a favorite. My burger came out a little more rare than usual, but was great. The fiery fries had a nice kick to them, very tasty. The beer was as expected, as I am a fan of micro-brews. Tried 3 or 4 different beers, and the Nut Brown was my favorite. Ian, our server, did a good job, and was very friendly. I have eaten here in the past, and would eat here again if ever in the Lowell Area

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lowell Beer Works also viewed

 

Been to Lowell Beer Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lowell Beer Works, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.