We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had a lot of fun in Lowell” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lowell National Historical Park

Lowell National Historical Park
246 Market Street, Lowell, MA 01852
978-970-5000
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 21 Attractions in Lowell
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, National Parks, State Parks, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This park commemorates Lowell's integral part in America's Industrial Revolution.
Ladenburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“I had a lot of fun in Lowell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We took a three generation tour of the Lowell National Park. Ranger Hank was so nice. We learned a lot of stuff about weaving and how hard it was to be a girl a long, long time ago!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    31
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rowley, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Little National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We took a tour of this lovely National Park and were surprised at all that we learned and saw. The textile mill operates, they have a small boat tour down the canal and we learned so much about early New England.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The canal tour is a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I grew up in Lowell and was quite familiar with the numerous canals and some of the history behind them - also recall the foul oders from the time of my childhood in the 50's and 60's. In the years since I left Lowell, the canal system has been restored and become a must see attraction to gain a better understanding the impact the area had on the world textile industry because of the canals. The Park Rangers conducting and narrating the tours are polite, helpful and very aware of the history of Lowell and the canals - unlike most of the people of the canal tour, I knew the area and some of the history and the narration was interesting and above all, quite accurate.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Mill City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

A great urban park. Intersting history of the mills and the mill workers. Fun to ride on the trolley and to go on a river tour. National parks are always a great place to visit!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
356 reviews 356 reviews
201 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This historical park gives one an insight into the Industrial Revolution from the perspective of a quaint, well situated, and strategically located Town. The mills and their stroies are fascinating- unfortunately some have been converted over time and one is urged to take in th current sites before they may be subject to "modenization" despite muc being under US PARK SERVICE protection. Go see how things were done and in what environments people did them in and with what machinery.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lowell National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lowell National Historical Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.