We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pedraladda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pedraladda to your Saves list
Hotel Pedraladda
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Zirulia, 50, 07031 Castelsardo, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Castelsardo
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location and views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

In short this is a clean and pleasant well placed hotel. The views from all the terraces (bar, restaurant, pool) are excellent. The private beach is not really suitable for swimming but a nice spot for some sunbathing. We didn't opt for a sea room as we spent so much time out and about or on the terraces. The breakfast is simple but effective, and dinner - see below.

The best advise we took from trip advisor was to book only B&B, there are so many great restaurants in and around the town (within 15 minutes walk) that we ate with a different sea view every evening. With the euro currently weak they are also very affordable. Our top 3 where; Su Nuraghe (high on the hill behind the hotel, you cant miss it), Aragona (a spaghetteria on the east side of the castle, and Pinna (above street level on the main sea road to the port).

The hotel was very quiet when we stayed, with a large wedding group arriving a day before we departed. This made the atmosphere very quiet and relaxing, this may still be the case when at capacity but I could not be sure.

The only real downside is the drive from Olbia, we arrived at night and 2 hours on roads you dont know with a map that isn't the best quickly becomes more than 2 hours and is a bad start to any trip. Either arrive in the day or use GPS if your planning to drive. We took the winding mountain route out, then the main road via Sassari on the way home which was much simper.

Renting a car may be a good idea if you get itchy feet and want to explore, there is a car rental office at the marina if you only wanted a day or two rather than getting one at the airport. Check out the north west peninsular of the island La Pelosa - you wont be disappointed.

One 'oddness' to look out for is the entertainment which incurs a mandatory charge (why is this not included in the room price!?). For 4 euros a day each you get (i think) the life guard service, hotel bus service, children's creche and entertainment pool side/evening. All of which was ok, but as a couple we could have happily done without. In any case the staff are enthusiastic and a pleasure to talk to. A warning, this does mean for a couple of hours in the morning and afternoon you cant really just relax by the pool - it doesn't seem to fit the ambiance of the hotel and would make me think twice about going back to this hotel for what we wanted.

As a closing thought, the town is an excellent place to stay, and we didn't see any other hotels that we thought looked better than this.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    162
    62
    29
    9
See reviews for
121
177
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

The hotel had been recommended to me by my brother and we were not let down.
The staff were friendly and efficient. The hotel was easy to find and in a beautiful location - our room over looked the pool and the sea view which was lovely to wake up to. We also had a balcony that was shared with the rest of the floor, so limited privacy but that didn't really bother us.
We rented a car and found parking easy and always found a space. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you can get a sea view room as the view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week in Sept '10. We had the most amazing stay. The room itself was perfect. The decoration was simple and the room as so clean with a gorgeous sea view, could hear the sea at night! There was an amazing breakfast every morning. We did not eat dinner in the hotel but the only reason was that we enjoyed walking around the town of Castelsardo in the night time so much. It was so peaceful and pretty, and so many wonderful restaurants!
The staff we very friendly and helpful.
We hired a car for the week and travelled up and down the coast so see more of Sardinia, the town of Castlesardo is lovely but we wanted to see more!
Overall this was a perfect hotel for a romantic getaway!

Room Tip: Sea view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bouc-Bel-Air, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed week in this hotel , it was far from being perfect but for the price it was fair enough.. the food was good, the location was very good they have direct access to the sea. My son who was only 18 month old enjoyed his stay since they have animation so my lil boy was dancing every night.The rooms are big but cleanliness was not really a big concerned in this hotel the floor of our room was dirty.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We really cannot find anything bad to say about our stay at the Hotel Pedraladda.

Even before we arrived, the service we received was very helpful and efficient, thank you to Dagmar for her prompt replies to our e-mails and also for her's and Rita's assistance during our stay, nothing was too much trouble for them - also it was very much service with a smile.

We had probably the best room in the hotel, amazing viewsof Castelsardo, the sea and hotel pool. Our two week stay coincided with the celebration of Ferragusto, so there was a celebration gala dinner at the hotel and then a brilliant firework display from the castle at midnight, which we watched from our balcony. Do not be put off by any of the reviews that are negative about the shared balconies, they are huge and although there is no wall between you and your neighbours, there is enough distance between you, so you can still have your privacy.

Our room was a nice size, very clean with maid service every day. The restaurant and food were excellent, a very large menu selection at breakfast and dinner, I expect that the lunch was of a high standard also, but we could never manage to eat that as well. Thank goodness for the stairs that some people have mentioned, at least we could have a bit of exercise after over-eating, although most often we cheated and took the lift. The bar was open all day until about midnight and again very good service, with laid back evening entertainment i.e., a pleasant guy singing and playing a guitar.

The location was ideal for us, a 15 minute walk into Castelsardo which we did some evenings and sat having a drink in the piazza, people watching. The views from the castle were stunning both in the day and at night-time - go on the bus (free with voucher from hotel) if you go up there in the day-time as it is a steep climb.

The hotel has it's own private beach which is lovely and secluded. There are sun-loungers, deck-chairs and umbrellas. The snorkelling is amazing, loads of fishes and sea urchins. We would recommend beach shoes, as it was a bit slippery underfoot.

We took advantage of a couple of the excursions available, one to Alghero and Stintino, which was a lovely day out and the other to Costa Smeralda which again we enjoyed, mainly because we got to see a lot of the north of Sardinia en route, i.e., the Valle Della Luna, the mountains, and some quant little villages. The tours are only available with an italian speaking guide, this was not a problem as we had our tourist information book and the guide's 17 year old daughter Helena came on the trips to very kindly help us out as she spoke some english.

Overall we rate everything about our holiday as excellent and would recomment the Hotel Pedraladda 100%.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Arrived very, very early Friday, July 1st, and could get our suite before 9 a'clock.
Impressive!
Front desk staff all very nice, friendly and cunning.
Same goes for house keepers, breakfast staff, entertainment personnel, and especially Massimo in the Sunny Bar.
Thank You all.
Suite was large, two separate bedrooms, two balconys with a great view to Castelsardo and the castle, and a very nice bathroom.
Private, secluded beach with pebbles and crystal clear water.
Free parking on the street.
Walk into town took approx ten minutes, normal pace.
We can strongly recommend Pedraladda.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPedraladda, Responsabile reception at Hotel Pedraladda, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for you excellent review on tripadvisor, We really appreciated that.
We are glad to hear you did enjoy your stay at our hotel. We are looking foward to hearing from you again next summer.

Best regards,

The Hotel Pedraladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights in early June. The hotel is very impersonal, and not really got much going for it. Everywhere is clean enough, though breakfast was poor at best, buffet dinner available for 25 euros each - we took a look and decided we could do better eating out. Many of the public spaces had an "empty" unfinished look to them.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPedraladda, Responsabile reception at Hotel Pedraladda, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear Guests,

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the Hotel Pedraladda. We are also surprised to hear that you found our hotel “impersonal” . All the rooms are, in fact, furnished following the Sardinian style. Our guests usually like it just because of that, often defying it as quite “characteristic”. Moreover, we get complimented everyday for the variety of our breakfast Our guests can, in fact, choose whether to enjoy a traditional Italian Breakfast which usually includes coffee (either balck or with milk) biscuits, croissants and other pastries, all available at our breakfast buffet, or to opt for somenthing more international ( juices, bread, eggs, fuit ..). Thank you for you contribution on tripadvisor anyway.

Best regards,
The Hotel Pedraladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pedraladda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pedraladda

Address: Via Zirulia, 50, 07031 Castelsardo, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Castelsardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Castelsardo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Castelsardo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castelsardo
#5 Family Hotel in Castelsardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pedraladda 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the center of the bay of Vignaccia, with superb views of the Gulf of the Asinara,in Sardinia. A modern complex and dynamic only 50 meters away from the beachof sand and rock, easily accessible through an underpass. At 600 meters from the hotel, on the other hand, is located the centerof the medieval Castelsardo, with its characteristic fortified village on the cliff above the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pedraladda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedraladda Hotel Castelsardo
Hotel Pedraladda Castelsardo, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pedraladda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.