We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Rocca 'ja

Ristorante Rocca 'ja
via Sedini, 07031 Castelsardo, Sardinia, Italy
+39 079 470164
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 44 Restaurants in Castelsardo
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Kent
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food and great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

The pizza and pasta here are very good. The staff were friendly and helped us with our poor Italian pronunciation. The views are amazing. It depends on how busy the restaurant is as to whether you'll get a table with a view so book if you want a view. The local families come to this restaurant in their droves and are also very friendly. We visited this restaurant twice as it was so good. Desserts not so good so go into town for gelato :-)

  • Visited September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    154
    46
    24
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birchington, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious pizzas, beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We walked up to this restaurant twice during our holiday. It's a steep walk up a hill, so it might be better to drive or get a taxi if you struggle with walking. Staff were helpful and spoke English. The food was good and the views were stunning across the sea. It was busy and had a lovely atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Incredible seafood pizza & stunning view of Castelsardo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend a visit. Two of us had a sensational seafood pizza! All other pizzas were very good. Panorama overlooking Castelsardo is great. Even though the restaurant is located close to the village, it is best to drive to the restaurant as it is a bit scary to walk alongside the road. Service was quick and efficient. Prices are competitive. Busy, so best to book table in advance. A must visit during a vacation in Castelsardo. Strong 4 stars (probably a 5 if there was a pizzeria category)

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bohemia, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Great view, average food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Great setting with perfect view of the bay and Castelsardo. The food is however average. Swordfish steak dry, spaghetti frutti di mare a bick lacking flavor, shrimps were barely visible. English knowledge fairly weak. Decent, worth the view, but nothing special overall.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Special dinner to round off our holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

A local resident recommended this restaurant for a special dinner to round off our holiday and we were not disappointed! The entrance to the building was unimpressive but the view from the interior was breathtaking, especially just before sunset. The service was perfect: efficient, friendly but unintrusive. We felt we were in very good hands - they seemed to intuit our every wish.The food was delicious, arrived quickly and was just as quickly removed when we were finished. The prices are fair and affordable; we paid around 30 euros per person for a 3 course meal with wine and coffee. We didn't notice any discrimination for non-italian speaking guests, such as ourselves. I would definitely recommend Rocca'ja for pizza, fish or meat dishes and hope to return there myself, when next in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Rocca 'ja also viewed

Castelsardo, Province of Sassari
Castelsardo, Province of Sassari
 
Castelsardo, Province of Sassari
Castelsardo, Province of Sassari
 

Been to Ristorante Rocca 'ja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Rocca 'ja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.