We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in Cala Gonone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Smeraldo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Smeraldo to your Saves list
Hotel Smeraldo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   viale Bue Marino 9, Cala Gonone, Dorgali, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Cala Gonone
Bologna, Italy
1 review
“Excellent stay in Cala Gonone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Me and my fiancée had an outstanding time in Cala Gonone thank to the Hotel Smeraldo; everybody has been so friendly and professional to us, from the lads at the Reception desk to the waiters/waitresses at the restaurant/bar. The swimming pool is tiny but clean and pretty, surrounded by a number of stunning trees; the closest beach is 10 mins walk away, so is the center of the village. It is possible to buy the tickets for the minicruises by boat or dinghy straight at the reception's till, so that there's no need to queue under the heat at the port down town. Food at Hotel Smeraldo is quality as well as the continental breakfast included. We recommend everybody to go there once to see it in person, it is definitely worth the price!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    55
    28
    14
    4
See reviews for
46
50
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Nice and reasonable hotel. Friendly staff, good wifi and nice pool area. The only drawbacks were the breakfast and the 20 minute walk to get downtown. Would still stay there again.

Cala Gonone was also a very nice location. Rent a boat and check out the caves and cliffs along the coast!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. the hotel itself is a bit 80's decorated but well maintained. We booked for 1 night and decided to stay for another night specially because of the help of the receptionists who helped us with the local attractions. The rooms are big but not fancy. the breakfast was good, although it seemed that the food was running out fast in the morning and they didn't rush to refill it. location is 5 minute walk from the center which was really ok.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel was good clean and tidy the staff were helpful and friendly the food was Italian which is what we wanted ( not mcdonalds ;-) ) to speak a small amount Italian in sardinia would be an advantage and the hotel staff were helpful with that. good all round

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viborg
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were clean and big with a nice balcony, the minibar was empty.We could hear almost everything from the neighboors. We did not Like the breakfast - but of course its a matter of taste.
Service at the reception was very good, but very poor at the restaurant were we felt very bad treated - especially the first day, were the vaitors and the Italians guest clearly talk about us and laughed at us several times, we waited for a menucard for a long time and had to ask several times if we could get a table (there were plenty free).
The room wasn't ready when we arrived, and wasnt ready 3 a clock either (as it should have been).

The pool is nice but a bit overcrowded and with lots of noise from very loud music, I wouldn't recommend going here for relaxation.

Location was fine and cala gonone was were nice, tid a short Walk to a Nice Beach.
Overall a okay 3 star hotel, but we had some bad experiences regarding the service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSmeraldoGonone, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Smeraldo, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment and we are sorry that you did not enjoy some parts of your stay at Hotel Smeraldo. Unfortunately last year, one of the manager of the restaurant left us early on the season and we did not manage to find a suitable alternative, therefore the restaurant was without a manager, but this year we have managed to find a solution. Most of the time (98%) the rooms are ready by check in time (15pm) but must have been busy day and we failed to prepare the room on time and we are sorry about it. August is the busiest time for holiday, especially with Italian guests, and it might be overcrowded everywhere in Sardinia.

We thanks again for your visit and comment and we hope you come and visit us again.

The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I enjoyed staying at H.S.
Location: not the heart of Cala Gonone, but it's o.k: just ~10 min of walking to downtown.
Room: clean; I didn't ordered room with a see view, but I got it.
Breakfast: really good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Nice cozy rooms, very good pools (one pool was closed). Very close to the beach and some good restaurants. Liked the green room color, tile floors. Watch out for those topless sunbathers! This walls so dont paly the TV too loud!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Smeraldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Smeraldo

Address: viale Bue Marino 9, Cala Gonone, Dorgali, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Nuoro > Dorgali > Cala Gonone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cala Gonone
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cala Gonone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Smeraldo 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Smeraldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Smeraldo Cala Gonone, Sardinia, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Smeraldo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.