We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Relaxing Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Club Saraceno

Save Saved
You added Hotel Club Saraceno to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Club Saraceno
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loc San Gemiliano, 08048 Arbatax, Tortoli, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Arbatax
Narni
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Relaxing Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I came across the Saraceno in the most roundabout way possible and at around 2am! Still the staff memeber even at that ungodly hour was helpful and friendly. the room we were offered was large, very clean, had the world's most comfortable bed and was perfectly quiet. we ended up staying four nights. throughout the staff were helpful and friendly, the grounds were a delight to walk through and the beach + pool well looked after. the price was good, and i would say it is a great place to use a base for exploring the surrounding area or for a full on family holiday. The Saraceno has an excellent breakfast spread, but in the evening there is only a buffet style meal to choose from, no a la carte menu. when we stayed the evening buffet cost 25 Euro per person. so not really the place for that romantic meal... i think it is worth mentioning restaurant La Baia, a few minutes away by car, which has a very down to earth feel and great cooking (especially the seafood). however, this is also not the place for your romantic meal. just a very good, well priced one.To conclude, we loved the Saraceno. it met our needs, the grounds were lovely and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    253
    97
    27
    8
    6
See reviews for
262
60
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

It was just amazing! Everything was really like in the pictures, I was just starring at all the green, the kid's area, restaurant, beach and the beautiful sea view. I loved it there, there was nothing I would change. Room was cleaned everyday, air conditioning working well, staff was speaking several languages (GER, ENG, RUS, FRA, ITA, ...), there always was an answer for your question. As we were in need to stay in touch with the rest of the world we paid for internet a few times (2eur / hour, 30 / week). The restaurant was big, cooks were nice and always smiling, giving information to whatever you wanted. A lot of salads, fruit, appetizers, cheeses, always fishes, pasta, meat and lovely desserts. We got a bottle of wine and water to every lunch and dinner. The only thing I would change was the time of the dinner, it started a bit too late for me. But we got used to it, we had time to visit the town or drink a cocktail before. :) The breakfast was 8 - 10, lunch 13 - 14:30 and dinner 20 - 21:30. We had the possibility to see, how nice they care for children, there always was a program prepared not only for them, but for us too. Aqua gym, tennis, table tennis, petanque, wolleyball, games, beach joga, etc. And what really surprised me was the care for disabled. They we're just ready for everything! I'm in love with the place! :)

Room Tip: It actually does not have a sense to have a room with sea view for the money, because you're in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Clean Rooms but very cold, was not able to change the air conditioning system is linked to a main central system. Tiny bathrooms, shower about one step away from the toilet and flooded bathroom floor when used.

Lovely quiet beach just outside of hotel

Lots of families and children around, not a great place for couples looking for a quiet time. Great for families lots of activities to keep the kids busy.

Evenings could get a little loud from the hotel entertainment but only til set time.

Slightly disorganised reception. Wifi only works in reception area. Did not like the extra charges for everything…extra charge for internet, extra charge for use of sun loungers, etc.

Restaurant overpriced. Snack bar under stocked, most of food we wanted to try was always never available. Though this seemed to be a common problem in Sardinia…always expect half of the items on the menu to be not available.

One needs a car to get there.

Arbatax nice little town, found an excellent patisserie there and had our first good meal in Sardinia at Da Lenin Restaurant.

Would go back to Arbatax but not to the hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I visited Saraceno in June 2012 with my wife, her daughter and family with husband and two small children. We stayed for a week with full pension.

It was excellent. Great location right on the beach. Room with sea view - a little far away - but sea view. Breakfast overloking the bay. Lovely pool (25m) + childrens pool with play ground. Tennis courts.

Everything is nice and clean.

Food is great!!

Entertainment at night for children and then music. I would rather be without the music, and it is difficult to find a "quiet spot" at night except for the terrasse in the room.

You can walk to another bay in 10 minuttes with a hotels and a bar. Otherwise very quiet area.

Greatly recommended for families.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erding, Germany
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

this club is nice, the atmosphere is great , palm ,plants trees wonderfull garden, clean an good staffed rooms. Rooms are divided in to categories dark and friendly light flatted. for this rooms you has to invest min 25 € per night (low saison). Staff at reception desk, is often not politly why ? motorbikers are normal all friendly have money and a great people. Pool s fantastic.

Room Tip: try to book a seaside or room in direction to seaside because the darkness of some rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Visited Hotel Club Saraceno while driving around Sardinia, stayed 2 nights. Large room, nice balcony, dirty bathroom and cheap beds. Resort was OK, but it is a family hotel, so expect children everywhere. While we were there, Ill guess we were the only one at the place not being German. Buffe restaurant was a bit of a mess and chaotic, like eating in a school cantine - very loud, no place for romantic dinners.
If German family - go and enjoy, else find a romantic hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

The place, the design, the rooms, the staff, activities, the animation guys, everything was simply great! Would go back there many more times!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Club Saraceno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club Saraceno

Address: Loc San Gemiliano, 08048 Arbatax, Tortoli, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Ogliastra > Tortoli > Arbatax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Arbatax
#1 Luxury Hotel in Arbatax
#1 Family Hotel in Arbatax
#6 Romantic Hotel in Arbatax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Club Saraceno 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Club Saraceno combines the appeal of a traditional hotel with that of a modern seaside resort and holiday club. The Saraceno sits directly on the beach of Arbatax, in the town of Tortolì, on Sardinia's east coast. This is where the warm sea of the Mediterranean and the wild nature of the Gennargentu mountain range meet, forming some of the island's most spectacular scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Club Saraceno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saraceno Hotel Arbatax
Hotel Club Saraceno Arbatax, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Club Saraceno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.