We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay - great people, real holiday heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Club Saraceno

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Club Saraceno to your Saves list
Hotel Club Saraceno
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loc San Gemiliano, 08048 Arbatax, Tortoli, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Arbatax
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing stay - great people, real holiday heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

It was just amazing! Everything was really like in the pictures, I was just starring at all the green, the kid's area, restaurant, beach and the beautiful sea view. I loved it there, there was nothing I would change. Room was cleaned everyday, air conditioning working well, staff was speaking several languages (GER, ENG, RUS, FRA, ITA, ...), there always was an answer for your question. As we were in need to stay in touch with the rest of the world we paid for internet a few times (2eur / hour, 30 / week). The restaurant was big, cooks were nice and always smiling, giving information to whatever you wanted. A lot of salads, fruit, appetizers, cheeses, always fishes, pasta, meat and lovely desserts. We got a bottle of wine and water to every lunch and dinner. The only thing I would change was the time of the dinner, it started a bit too late for me. But we got used to it, we had time to visit the town or drink a cocktail before. :) The breakfast was 8 - 10, lunch 13 - 14:30 and dinner 20 - 21:30. We had the possibility to see, how nice they care for children, there always was a program prepared not only for them, but for us too. Aqua gym, tennis, table tennis, petanque, wolleyball, games, beach joga, etc. And what really surprised me was the care for disabled. They we're just ready for everything! I'm in love with the place! :)

Room Tip: It actually does not have a sense to have a room with sea view for the money, because you're in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    109
    28
    9
    6
See reviews for
283
71
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Clean Rooms but very cold, was not able to change the air conditioning system is linked to a main central system. Tiny bathrooms, shower about one step away from the toilet and flooded bathroom floor when used.

Lovely quiet beach just outside of hotel

Lots of families and children around, not a great place for couples looking for a quiet time. Great for families lots of activities to keep the kids busy.

Evenings could get a little loud from the hotel entertainment but only til set time.

Slightly disorganised reception. Wifi only works in reception area. Did not like the extra charges for everything…extra charge for internet, extra charge for use of sun loungers, etc.

Restaurant overpriced. Snack bar under stocked, most of food we wanted to try was always never available. Though this seemed to be a common problem in Sardinia…always expect half of the items on the menu to be not available.

One needs a car to get there.

Arbatax nice little town, found an excellent patisserie there and had our first good meal in Sardinia at Da Lenin Restaurant.

Would go back to Arbatax but not to the hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I visited Saraceno in June 2012 with my wife, her daughter and family with husband and two small children. We stayed for a week with full pension.

It was excellent. Great location right on the beach. Room with sea view - a little far away - but sea view. Breakfast overloking the bay. Lovely pool (25m) + childrens pool with play ground. Tennis courts.

Everything is nice and clean.

Food is great!!

Entertainment at night for children and then music. I would rather be without the music, and it is difficult to find a "quiet spot" at night except for the terrasse in the room.

You can walk to another bay in 10 minuttes with a hotels and a bar. Otherwise very quiet area.

Greatly recommended for families.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erding, Germany
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

this club is nice, the atmosphere is great , palm ,plants trees wonderfull garden, clean an good staffed rooms. Rooms are divided in to categories dark and friendly light flatted. for this rooms you has to invest min 25 € per night (low saison). Staff at reception desk, is often not politly why ? motorbikers are normal all friendly have money and a great people. Pool s fantastic.

Room Tip: try to book a seaside or room in direction to seaside because the darkness of some rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Visited Hotel Club Saraceno while driving around Sardinia, stayed 2 nights. Large room, nice balcony, dirty bathroom and cheap beds. Resort was OK, but it is a family hotel, so expect children everywhere. While we were there, Ill guess we were the only one at the place not being German. Buffe restaurant was a bit of a mess and chaotic, like eating in a school cantine - very loud, no place for romantic dinners.
If German family - go and enjoy, else find a romantic hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

The place, the design, the rooms, the staff, activities, the animation guys, everything was simply great! Would go back there many more times!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

We stayed in the Hotel Club Saraceno in august last year.
I had booked a room with a seaview with a consequent extra price and was extremely disappointed to find out the seaview we'd payed for was ridiculous.
I did complain and eventually got a "kind" discount of €10 per day extra from the this very stern lady which was part of the family owners.
Sardinia is a lovely place but the guarantee that many italians will confirm their bookings year after year makes the sardinians quite careless to solve problems.
Anyway our room was very nice with local decor.
The best thing about this hotel is the quality of the food in the restaurant, the choice is amazing, the quality of each single dish is superb, only bad point is the staff are quite rude and will comment rather non chalantly on guests arriving late or leaving tables dirty.
The beach is ok, rather ordinary considering the truly beautiful beach you can visit if you decide to go on a boat trip.
The swimming pool is quite big but nothing special, while the kids pool was to me very unsafe. they had painted the borders with a very slippery paint and my 4y old kept slipping and falling, also the height was not signalled properly.
The gardens are beautiful
Beach towels are not free.
We booked a taxi with hotel to take us back to Olbia airport. Our 3 children were @ one point sick in the car and the driver went mental, stopped the car got outside in a car wash and cleaned the child seat with a water pump while swearing in local dialect... we could not believe what was happening to us as he was driving rather fast on very bendy road.
i doubt we will go back to this Hotel

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Club Saraceno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club Saraceno

Address: Loc San Gemiliano, 08048 Arbatax, Tortoli, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Ogliastra > Tortoli > Arbatax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Arbatax
#1 Family Hotel in Arbatax
#3 Luxury Hotel in Arbatax
#5 Romantic Hotel in Arbatax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Club Saraceno 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Club Saraceno combines the appeal of a traditional hotel with that of a modern seaside resort and holiday club. The Saraceno sits directly on the beach of Arbatax, in the town of Tortolì, on Sardinia's east coast. This is where the warm sea of the Mediterranean and the wild nature of the Gennargentu mountain range meet, forming some of the island's most spectacular scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Club Saraceno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saraceno Hotel Arbatax
Hotel Club Saraceno Arbatax, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Club Saraceno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.