We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Regia Ristorante

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Regia Ristorante to your Saves list
Hotel Regia Ristorante
Piazza Monsignor Reginaldo M. Addazi 2, 70059 Trani, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Trani
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Horsham
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice small hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Beautifully positioned right next to the cathedral in a lovely town. Good room, friendly staff. The only thing that let it down was the breakfast, which was very basic and not of the standard I would expect from a (allegedly) 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    55
    11
    1
    5
See reviews for
25
65
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, UK
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
162 hotel reviews
Reviews in 175 cities Reviews in 175 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Nicely situated but very hard to find with poor directions, the hotel has been refurbished though without a lot of character. We ate in the restaurant first night but opted for more character elsewhere on the second night. The hotel's parking is in fact the town parking site three or four minutes away and you need to display a ticket- exactly as if you were a day visitor to the town.

The room was OK- decently sized , though the bathroom seemed older than the room and was disfigured by a black mould/fungus between the tiles that is referred to in a recent review. I've attached a photograph of this.

The big problem came when we noticed that their function room was fully set-up on the morning of out second day. Bearing in mind that our room was directly above, we asked the receptionist whether there was a wedding or similar that night and she said unequivocably not. Returning from dinner out that night it was clear that a party was in full swing. We went to our room to try and sleep. Not possible. I dressed and went downstairs to try and get the noise level reduced. The night-porter sought the staff on duty at the party and they downright refused to reduce the noise level, indicating that those 100 people could not be disappointed. I complained twice more with no result. The noise continued unabated until nearly 2am.

This hotel declined to inform us of this event when we booked or at any time before we arrived. They misinformed us in response to a specific enquiry on the day, and they made it very clear that our rights to a comfortable night ranked very low on their priorities. They made no attempt to placate or compensate us until I asked in the strongest terms They deprived us of any opportunity to move to another hotel.

I can be critical of the need for deep cleaning in the bathroom, the fact that breakfast was never available at the published time, the poor cooking, the parking arrangements etc . But the thing I can't forgive in a service establshment is failing to disclose material facts or tell the truth to customers and demonstrating that actually they just don't care. Clearly this place won't be seeing any more of our money and I'd suggest that if you value customer care, then you'll see more of it somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba, Argentina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The hotel is in a wonderful square, the building is old but the rooms are very modern, very confortable, especially the room in the corner. it really worths as the town of Trani which is really BEAUTIFUL, with amzing small squares, delicious restaurants, pictoresque roads!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Hotel Regia is situated just between the cathedral and the pier and on walking distance to the port, restaurants, etc...
We didn't make use of the restaurant. Breakfast was OK (ham and cheese, cakes, cereals, etc...) but not overwhelming;
The room was spacious and luminous with modern furniture, a good bed, clean bathroom.
No WIFI !!
Parking either at the port either just before the castle, at 200 m from the hotel. Parking cost of these public parking is 4 €/day. You can get tickets at the reception and they gave a nice reduction;

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the corner with 2 windows, facing resp the cathedral and the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

A wonderful view from your room. Booked a higher category and got a spacious corner room. The renovation gives you clean, comfortable and spacious rooms, airconditioning that works silently in the background.

For location this is a topper.

The neighbourhood is quiet, except when the hotel is hosting a dinner party in the weekend with music till late at night. As a hotelier you can make a choice, but you can't have a party and have your guests sleepless. Make a choice and be straightforward about it.

Service was ok but not exceptional.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

High expectations but our room was a dysfunctional box - 2 beds, one chair, and a desk. It did have a nice view of the sea, though. Good location. Breakfast was adequate, but not great. No safe deposits in room. No computer for guests. No diet drinks of any kind (I brought my own). The real downer was slimy black mold in our shower. We asked that it be cleaned, but it only received a good wipe with lots of residue left in the corners. Yuck. Give it a 3-star at best.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room or at least a photo before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

This old Palazzo is across from the Duomo on Piazza del Duomo, which is spectacularly situated overlooking the sea. The piazza, the streets, the whole town is made from a lovely beige stone. We had a view of the sea from our hotel room that I will never forget. The staff was very friendly. Dinner at the restaurant was good (they are drowning in fresh fish in this town) and the waitress was absolutely wonderful! Trani is small and it's lovely to walk by the sea and watch the fishermen unload, or stroll the streets of the old town. From the hotel, it's a very short walk either into the old town or down to the port and the Piazza del Duomo has a beautiful promenade on the sea.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Regia Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regia Ristorante

Address: Piazza Monsignor Reginaldo M. Addazi 2, 70059 Trani, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Barletta-Andria-Trani > Trani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Trani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Regia Ristorante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regia Hotel Trani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Regia Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.