We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All good at the HIE Cambridge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Monsignor O'Brien Highway, Cambridge, MA 02141   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Cambridge
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
320 helpful votes 320 helpful votes
“All good at the HIE Cambridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

The HIE is located about a 5 minute walk from the closest Metro station, no big deal. This HIE definitely lived up to expected HIE standards; good beds, spacious rooms, decent facilities. Although downtown Boston is a wee bit too far to walk to, the public transport is great and costs $1.70 if you get a Charlie Card instead of $2.20 if you just get Charlie Tickets. Cambridge has a good selection of restaurants, mostly running along Cambridge Street, which is only a few minutes from the hotel. There is also a good supermarket round the corner from the hotel and a small park. This HIE provided a very good buffet breakfast which included scrambled eggs or omelettes as well as bacon and sausage each morning, along with the usual HIE buffet standard fare. This hotel was a very good option and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    163
    59
    25
    4
See reviews for
134
89
24
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leatherstocking Region New York
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

Stayed here on Father's Day weekend in order to attend Red Sox game at Fenway on Saturday afternoon, and Father's Day at Fenway on Sunday. Everything was pretty basic. Did not get any special considerations for being a Platinum Priority Club member. Room ordered was not ready at noon, no problem since hotel was full due to Red Sox game, so we changed in bathroom and walked a few block to the Lechmere T. After game when we returned around 9:30 PM, front desk person handed us our room keys in a small envelope. On our way up to room in elevator, other guests told us that their first room had BEDBUGS! We checked ours thoroughly before settling in, and found no signs of the insects. Breakfast was pretty basic offerings for HI Express. Some other locations we have stayed our in the South put little flourishes in their breakfast buffets. Area was well stocked and kept fairly clean.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXcambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, October 3, 2010
Thank you for providing your valuable feedback. We appreciate your compliments and apologize for not having your room ready at 12noon. As a Platinum member, you must always be recognized and this failure is regretable. Our staff have all been certified recently on Priority Club training. In response to the comment that you 'heard' from another guest about insects in the room, I can assure you that we do not have a pest problem in this hotel. In fact we have a preventative maintenance program that professionally checks each room quarterly along with daily visual inspections of our housekeepers and management. Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

This hotel was worth about what I paid for it, and I got a good discount on priceline. I would not pay full price for this hotel, this explains my value rating. At first, they put me in a smoking room. This was awful and smelly, everything was surface-cleaned only - there were hairs on the bathroom counter when I arrived. Then, the nice person at the front desk moved me to a non-smoking room. This was much cleaner (and, of course, smelled much better). I've stayed at some Holiday Inn Expresses with amazing beds, brand new pillows and linens, new televisions, great locations. This one was old in every way. The AC unit was loud and difficult to control. If I set the thermostat higher because the AC had cooled down the room too much, it turned on the heat, instead of simply shutting off. The heater made a burning smell. The good parts were the fridge in the room, the close proximity to a supermarket, and the breakfast selection (none of it was great, but there was a lot to chose from).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXcambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, October 3, 2010
We appreciate your valuable feedback. I regret and apologize that we didn't immediately provide the correct room type, although pleased that the 'friendly' staff quickly resolved the problem. There is no excuse for finding a hair in the bathroom which has been addressed with housekeeping staff. I'm proud to say that we do plan to upgrade the hotel rooms this winter to give ourselves a new and 'fresh' appearance. Thanks for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

Booked the hotel since the reviews were great. Disappointed when we arrived. The lobby was clean, however, flies were flying around. The staff were friendly, and when we went to our room, we realized that fitting 5 people in the room was going to be tight. The staff offered to change the room for us, however, we decided not to stay. The walk to the T was further then we thought, and also the area looked very depressed. Boarded up buildings accross the street, made it a little less then appealing.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

I have stayed here many times. It is very close to my office in Cambridge. The staff is very helpful. They have a well equipped business center. The breakfast spread is good. Lot of tourist attractions are also close to this hotel or are well connected through train.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

I had a week long stay at the Holiday Inn Express Cambridge to attend a program at MIT. Compared to the other hotels in Cambridge area this was a great value for money.

Pros:
- Excellent price
- Two blocks to T (Lechmere)
- Short $5 cab ride to MIT Kendall Square
- Rooms have a fridge & a microwave
- Breakfast included (its just ok but free)

Cons:
- Not so pleasant looking (but safe) neighborhood
- Lack of dining options (there is a grocery store, a McDonald's & a Dunkin Donuts within a block)

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

Arrived during a cold snap, maybe the coldest week of the year. I was coming straight from the tropics, and shivering with cold after the 10 minute walk from the Green Line T station. The heater worked great, was easily adjustable and responded fast. There is a gas station across the street, and a supermarket nearby to buy snacks. I enjoyed.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge

Address: 250 Monsignor O'Brien Highway, Cambridge, MA 02141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#13 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#14 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! Located minutes from downtown Boston on the Green Line of the 'T' Lechmere Station, close to MIT, Harvard University, Museum of Science, TD Banknorth Garden, Patni Corp., EF Foundation, Kendall Square, Massachusetts General Hospital, Spaulding Rehabilition Center and Massachusetts Eye and Ear, and only 3 miles from Boston Logan Airport (BOS), our hotel is the perfect location for visiting the Boston/Cambridge area. We offer a complimentary American breakfast, featuring our famous cinnamon roll as well as a variety of hot foods. Sit back, relax, and enjoy our Great Room, with 24-hour coffee, complimentary cookies at night, and high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the building. Our convenient location and commitment to service make us the best value in the Boston/Cambridge area, so book now and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. Contact the hotel directly for packages that'll save you money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Boston - Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.