We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 big problems...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Monsignor O'Brien Highway, Cambridge, MA 02141   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 17 hotels in Cambridge
Boston, MA
1 review
“3 big problems...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The hotel building itself was fine, and the room was big enough. It has 3 main problems:
1. The location is awful. The area is sketchy at best.
2. The wifi is absolutely awful. I think I have had faster speeds with a 56k modem.
3. When I asked the front desk to call me a taxi, they called a scam artist who charges $30 for an airport trip (it's about a $15 cab ride).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear C C,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    141
    53
    25
    4
See reviews for
114
77
23
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Clean rooms. Comfy queen beds. Spacious rooms for the city. Friendly staff gives out warm cookies at night. Great Parking. Walk to lechmere T, the mall, or the grocery.
Large breakfast area.
Quiet rooms.
Very convenient for our family stay.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel, location, staff and proximity to just about everything. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is a good choice for sightseeing in Boston if you don't mind walking a little. It is within walking distance of the commuter rail station and only a few stops from downtown Boston. The hotel doesn't have a pool which would have been nice after a walk about Boston but we booked this hotel at the last minute so we couldn't be too choosy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us. We are happy that you found our location near the T and downtown Boston so convenient and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is not recommended for business travellers. Wifi is very poor, virtually non existent in rooms.

Room is damp and smells damp unless a/c is on.

Terrible location... Miles from anywhere on the side of a highway.

Breakfast is soggy and not fresh.

Staff on the other hand are friendly and helpful.

I would not stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and while most of our guests love our location and proximity to both the T as well as many area businesses, our location is not for everyone. We do appreciate you mentioning that our staff was helpful and attentive during your stay. We wish you great success in finding a hotel that better suits your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed two nights while visiting Boston. Can't beat the location for this price! A T-station is very nearby, putting you into Boston in minutes. Parking on-site is rather limited but there is an overflow parking lot just across the street (which might not be so nice in the dead of winter). I would heartily recommend this establishment for an affordable stay in Boston.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. With our location only three blocks from the T, we are a great location for leisure and business travelers alike. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nebraska
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel was perfect for our Boston stay. It's just across the Charles river from Boston and a short walk to the T station. We only tried the T once and did not enjoy the ride so took cabs for the rest of our stay. The most expensive cab was $31 from Logan otherwise it was usually about $15 or so or every place we went.
All the staff from the front desk,dining room & housekeeping were super friendly & helpful. I'd like to single out Ralph because he was so helpful & went out of his way to assist us.
The room was comfortable & clean. There was street noise (we were on the 7th floor) but it was only during rush hour early morning and we needed to wake up anyway. There was not hall noise and we were right across from the elevator.
There is a fridge & microwave which was very nice as we ate 2 xs at the Cheesecake Factory in the Cambridge Galleria Mall and there are always left over from the CF. The mall is an easy walk and there are quite a few dining choices there.
The area is pretty industrial but we went into Boston for the sightseeing and only returned to the hotel in the early evenings. We felt safe walking to the Galleria in the evenings.
The hotel breakfast was tasty & well supplied and there was plenty of room to sit (sometimes these breakfast rooms are too crowded for comfort)
Again, this was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We appreciate your kind words about our hotel, location and staff. We strive to make every guest feel like they are at their home away from home and we are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us. We will forward your comments to the staff members and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I like HIE, I wake up smarter! However, this is the second time at this one and I have to admit, I need to learn. It's tough to get to and not in the great part of Cambridge. If you get a room on the highway side, it is LOUD (bring earplugs for the noises really start about 5am). The parking is very limited (both times I have been lucky). My biggest complaint is that the wifi just generally stops working, randomly. Also, amazingly, since May the password hasn't changed. Seriously, why even have a password if it isn't going to change. One nice thing is the breakfast is free. You just have to like pre-made breakfast. I don't. The coffee is hot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We appreciate your comments and apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced while with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge

Address: 250 Monsignor O'Brien Highway, Cambridge, MA 02141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#13 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! Located minutes from downtown Boston on the Green Line of the 'T' Lechmere Station, close to MIT, Harvard University, Museum of Science, TD Banknorth Garden, Patni Corp., EF Foundation, Kendall Square, Massachusetts General Hospital, Spaulding Rehabilition Center and Massachusetts Eye and Ear, and only 3 miles from Boston Logan Airport (BOS), our hotel is the perfect location for visiting the Boston/Cambridge area. We offer a complimentary American breakfast, featuring our famous cinnamon roll as well as a variety of hot foods. Sit back, relax, and enjoy our Great Room, with 24-hour coffee, complimentary cookies at night, and high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the building. Our convenient location and commitment to service make us the best value in the Boston/Cambridge area, so book now and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. Contact the hotel directly for packages that'll save you money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Boston - Cambridge
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.