We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read Carefully” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Monsignor O'Brien Highway, Cambridge, MA 02141   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in Cambridge
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Read Carefully”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Here is a classic situation where management of a tired hotel is spending a fortune renovating the building. I stayed in a freshly renovated room. It was beautiful. New beds, wallpaper, furniture, carpet, bath fixtures etc. So, any reviews prior to the renovation can really be discounted now. Now, I realize that does not excuse mold or dirt prior to the reno. Even an old property can be kept clean. That being said I would recommend this hotel. Besides, you get to park for free here and breakfast is free. You are 5 minutes from downtown Boston where other hotels charge $20.00-$40.00 a night to park. That drives me nuts!

Room Tip: Upper floors are always a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    141
    52
    24
    4
See reviews for
108
74
23
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I booked this hotel through Hotwire so I was a little hesitant at first. Once I arrived, I found that it was no need to be. The hotel is undergoing renovations and I was fortunate to stay in one of the new rooms. It was very comfortable and clean. I was very pleased. There was free internet, parking and breakfast. The hotel wasn't far from anything!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for 4 nights and we couldn't have been happier to leave. Cons: Our backs were hurting from the tiny, hard, uncomfortable beds and we were quite grossed out by the food stains/crumbs on the walls, chairs, and curtains. Then there was the heater that constantly blew hot dry air to the point none of us could breath by morning time. The bathroom was ok, but could have been cleaner. Pros: The staff was friendly and always greeted us upon our return. You get a complimentary breakfast but choices are limited. There is free parking (if you can find a space) and free wifi with an average connectivity. The area was not ideal (a bit run down) but a few blocks away it improves. This hotel is currently under renovation so hopefully they make some much needed improvements. I would only stay here again if I absolutely had to for financial reasons, but I doubt that I will. I will be exploring better options for out upcoming Boston trips.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael de Escazu, Costa Rica
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Just returned from a 4-night stay at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Cambridge and have nothing but positive praises for this property and the staff.

We booked the hotel on a third-party website (Hotwire.com) and called to confirm we would be receiving a non-smoking room with two double beds to suit our needs. While our initial contact with the hotel wasn't great (the man on night shift was rude and told us we could not make requests), the manager Tom was very friendly and helpful when we called back a second time.

Also, while at the hotel we found all staff very friendly and helpful and they even booked our transport to the airport the night before we left.

The hotel itself was clean and only a few blocks (3-4minute walk) to/from a 'T' subway station. From the subway station, it was just two stops and you were downtown at North Station making it especially easy to attend events at TD Garden. We attended a Bruins game on a Saturday night, left the arena after the game and the post-game show was still on TV when we got back. It was no more than a 20-minute commute from our seat in the garden to our hotel.

The rooms and breakfast area were very clean and tidy and the beds are pretty standard with all other Holiday Inn Express hotels we've stayed at.

We found breakfast to be a terrific value with coffees, juices, milks, cereals, yogurts, fruits, toast, bacon, eggs, waffles and pancakes to name a few of the more popular items. It was a great way to start the day without reaching back into the pocket and paying for something again.

All in all we had a great experience at this hotel. Wfound it a super value and very convenient for visiting Boston as it's less than a 15 minute cab to and from Logan Airport.

I should also mention that we always felt safe walking to and from the subway - even at night. Also, there is a small plaza near the mall with a grocery store to stock up on snacks and the Cambridgeside Galleria is just around the corner from the subway station and also within walking distance for those looking to shop.

After that one bad phone call to confirm our reservation, we have nothing but good things to say about this property and will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Good - wireless interent, breakfast, free parking, reception, rooms restful (slept like logs after transatlantic flight)
Good - apples in reception!
Good - easy access to central Boston and airport (but see below)
Average - though location pretty convenient the subway station currently out of action which means a VERY packed backup 'bus to the next station.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

The location is not the most scenic on a busy highway, but being right next to a T stop means its convenient. For Boston its a good value, with free parking and breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

We go to Boston regularly for some medical appointments and booked this hotel this time because of the free parking, free internet and free breakfast. Internet and breakfast were great but parking is a HUGE issue. The lot is TINY and there were no spots when we arrived. We were told to park across the street ( a 4 lane hi-way!!) at a liquor store. We went into the store to make sure it was legit and were told "no you cant park here while we are open. Once we close its up to you." Back at the hotel they told us to park in a handicap spot which we wouldnt do. So, we hiked back across the street and sat in the hotel lot until someone left. UGH!
Desk people were very nice, rooms were fine and breakfast was good! Internet worked great and the location was easy to get around from.
Probably wouldnt go back but its not the worst i have seen!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXcambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Thanks for providing such valuable feedback to us and many other potential Holiday Inn Express Cambridge guests.. We appreciate your positive comments about the friendly staff, accomodations, breakfast and internet. I'm sorry that we were not able to provide a positive parking experience. Next year at this time we will have a third lot available for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge

Address: 250 Monsignor O'Brien Highway, Cambridge, MA 02141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#12 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#13 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! Located minutes from downtown Boston on the Green Line of the 'T' Lechmere Station, close to MIT, Harvard University, Museum of Science, TD Banknorth Garden, Patni Corp., EF Foundation, Kendall Square, Massachusetts General Hospital, Spaulding Rehabilition Center and Massachusetts Eye and Ear, and only 3 miles from Boston Logan Airport (BOS), our hotel is the perfect location for visiting the Boston/Cambridge area. We offer a complimentary American breakfast, featuring our famous cinnamon roll as well as a variety of hot foods. Sit back, relax, and enjoy our Great Room, with 24-hour coffee, complimentary cookies at night, and high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the building. Our convenient location and commitment to service make us the best value in the Boston/Cambridge area, so book now and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. Contact the hotel directly for packages that'll save you money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Boston - Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.