We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Accommodating Staff- Nice Room, Too!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Boston Cambridge

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Boston Cambridge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Boston Cambridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Cambridge Center, Cambridge, MA 02142   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Cambridge
Wiesbaden, Germany
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Friendly, Accommodating Staff- Nice Room, Too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I left for Cambridge with a one night reservation due to high demand. The staff at this hotel were able to accommodate me for my full three nights, so right there they get an A+ from me. The woman working at the front desk at around 3:00 on the 4th of October deserves a special thanks! Check-in was speedy. The room they gave me, 217 was clean with lots of natural light. Everything was as it should be. I like the kitchen and living area. The bed was comfortable. Toiletries were good quality and plentiful. The only suggestion I have is to re-caulk the tub as it is discolored and unattractive.

Breakfast had good variety, although it did not change from day to day. I was jet-lagged and up very early. There was no crowd, although it does get busier later.

There were two lobby computers available.

Although the hotel was full, the elevators worked quickly and there was never much wait at all.

The spa/excercise area were quite nice and well maintained.

The location is great- just around the corner from the Kendall T stop. I will make a point of staying here again.

Room Tip: If you like the smell of coffee, ask for a lower floor above the Starbucks. 217 had a heavenly arom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI-Cambridge-GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston Cambridge, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Rhine-and-Roses,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel during your short visit to the Boston area, and especially for recognizing the staff. Providing detailed information about your day and time of arrival will allow me to recognize this Front Desk associate!

I’m pleased that you found the Hotel to be clean and comfortable, and it sounds as if you were able to enjoy some of the amenities such as the complimentary hot breakfast buffet and the lobby computers.

I did see your note about the caulking in the bathtub, and have already asked our Engineering Supervisor to address this issue promptly tomorrow morning.

Thanks for taking the time to highlight your visit on TripAdvisor. If you find yourself in the area again, please feel free to contact me directly to assist with reservations.

Kind regards,

John Wilmoth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    124
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
108
35
11
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I had a wonderful stay at this hotel with my two girls in late September. It was a very busy week and all the hotels were full. My girls are very light sleeper and I was concerned with the construction noise next door. I called and asked the manager Mr. John Wilmoth questions about construction noise, he explained to me the construction starting time, what possible noise to expect, and which side of the hotel is quiet...etc. I was very impressed with his professional attitude. He didn't have to do this knowing all the nearby hotels were booked, but he made me feel that Marriott really cared about each and everyone of their customer, he even offered a rollaway so my girls could sleep on their own bed. He is an asset to Marriott and deserves the golden award to superior customer service. Thank you John!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here for 5 days in late September and had a great experience. Free breakfast, free wireless internet, no complaints! There is a T line within 5 minutes and downtown Boston is 3 stops away; Harvard is 2. No complaints at all! Add in the full sized fridge, stove top, and microwave and you're in for a great stay!

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the hall, away from the elevator are very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Residence Inn Boston Camridge last week end on our first visit to the Boston Cambridge area and we were very we shows this place. Staff was very helpful, room was comfortable, and breakfast selection was very good. Also the hotel was 1 and 1/2 block from the T station, very good access to Boston.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I normally stay at the Marriott a few doors down, but always looking for something new, I decided to try the Residence Inn. Lorraine checked me in, and as others have mentioned, she is so nice. The room was large, bed was comfortable (I love that they don't have the thick down comforters on the bed) and I didn't hear everyone walking by at all hours of the night. The quick bite for dinner on Tues-Thurs was a nice surprise. Since it is right across the street from my company, I will certainly be staying here from now on.

Room Tip: Right now, there is construction going on nearby, so be sure to ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

As a Platinum Elite Member, I stay at Marriott properties often and I must say that I am pleased with the service I received when I stayed at the Residence Inn in Cambridge. The staff was friendly and provided great service, especially Lorraine at the front desk. She assisted me throughout my check in process and provided me with unique experiences during my trip to Cambridge as well as great recommendations for restaurants and such. While I figured my stay would be average, my stay was great because of Lorraine and the other courteous staff of the property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI-Cambridge-GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston Cambridge, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Chris W,

Thank you for choosing our Residence Inn during your recent trip to the Boston/Cambridge area. As you have achieved the highest level of our frequent traveler program, I greatly appreciate your feedback about the excellent service that Lorraine provided during your stay. Traveling as much as you do, your comments are especially welcomed, and I will be certain to recognize her at tomorrow’s all associate meeting.

Thank you again for your continued loyalty.

Best regards,

John Wilmoth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I always choose Residence Inns because of the extra space in the rooms and free breakfast but this Residence Inn went the extra mile. We checked in at about 9:30am and immediately got our room which was unexpected but very welcome after being up since about 3:30am. We only stayed two nights but the location was perfect (5 minute walk to the T), and it was everything we needed. A small benefit but one to be noted: When I stay in a hotel with a pull out couch, usually they'll fold the bed back in after making it. At this hotel they neatly made the bed and left it out. It was great that my travelling companion was able to just crawl back into bed after a long day out on the town.

Room Tip: Get a AAA card, it literally has saved me hundreds of dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Boston Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Boston Cambridge

Address: 6 Cambridge Center, Cambridge, MA 02142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Boston Cambridge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Boston Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Boston Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Residence Inn Cambridge
Cambridge Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Boston Cambridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.