We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harvard Square Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harvard Square Hotel Cambridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Harvard Square Hotel Cambridge to your Saves list
Harvard Square Hotel Cambridge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Mount Auburn Street, Cambridge, MA 02138   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Cambridge
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Harvard Square Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed at HSH for three nights while attending a seminar at Harvard. This was one of the hotels offering a discounted rate for the seminar attendees so it was well-situated (walking distance) to Harvard, public transport, convenience stores, restaurants, and bars. There isn't a restaurant on-site but there's so much around from which to choose (including delivery options), I didn't miss it. They also have a small convenience area in the lobby that sells fresh fruit, bottled drinks, etc. The front desk staff is outstanding; very friendly, informative, helpful, and I never waited for service. I had a deluxe king and while it was smallish (which doesn't bother me), the decor was contemporary and clean. The bathroom was immaculate with a glass-tiled shower and modern fixtures. Free wifi in the rooms is a huge plus for me and I never had any trouble with connecting, using Facebook, email, etc. Good closet, desk space, and a mini-fridge. No in-room movies but basic cable stations. It's essentially a clean, comfortable, no-frills hotel with fantastic location. The biggest downside: the walls are paper-thin. Seriously, it's not good and it's so unfortunate because in almost every other way this is a great hotel!! I was able to hear my neighbor on the phone like I was in the room with her and being right next to the elevator, I heard the ding of that every time someone used it. Street noise was similar even though I was on the fourth (top) floor but this didn't bother me as much. So all in all, a good value for the area and a wonderful staff make up for the noise. Would give this hotel a 3.5 but Trip Advisor doesn't allow it :). I really wanted to give this hotel a higher rating but the walls/noise brought it down a notch.

Room Tip: - Try Russell House Tavern and Toscano for great dinners (both walking distance). - Stop at the nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    70
    50
    20
    3
See reviews for
62
24
24
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

A great gem of a hotel and conveniently located. This property is clean, contemporary and highly reasonably priced. The staff is knowledgeable, friendly and totally customer focused. Much nicer than almost anything else like it. Go for it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Boston/Cambridge hotels tend to be either very pricey or in locations a bit away from where you really want to be. So the Harvard Square Hotel is a refreshing option - a great location and clean modern rooms at a reasonable price. No frills - modest reception, no restaurant or room service. On the other hand free wi-fi in the rooms, and a small empty fridge which we really appreciated so that we could organise our own simple breakfasts before going out. Staff are courteous - thanks David for setting up our taxi to the airport. What could be improved?.....complimentary coffee and tea in the reception rather than charging for it (OK its only $2) would be a nice touch. A kettle or coffee-maker in the rooms would be good. Our Room 212 had 2 Queen beds.....an option with one Queen and a couple of comfortable chairs would have been great for our 5 night stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siasconset, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The HSH is in a perfect location for visiting Harvard. It is a small hotel with contemporary rooms... the rooms with two beds are a bit cramped, one bed gives you more room space. No frills, but perfect for a trip where you aren't spending a lot of time in the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Nice staff. Great location. Very accommodating. Centrally located. Reasonable rates. Safe, clean and definitely worth the money. I would absolutely book my stay again.they have rent cars available, wifi and taxis available upon request

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

In January, I was taking a weekly class at Harvard and the manager, Dave, was able to book me into the same room for a month -- and I did not even have to ask for it! Coming back week after week to a familiar room makes traveling less stressful and much more comfortable. It's great to have service from people who can almost read my mind! That's outstanding service!

Room Tip: Check with Dave the mind reading manager!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel is nicely located close to Harvard University and Harvard Square.

Recently renovated, the Harvard Square Hotel is very clean, modern, comfortable and well maintained. Staff at the hotel are very friendly and very caring - always willing and attentive to your needs. The level of service provided is the best I have seen in my travels.

There are lots of restaurants and food places within a few minutes walking distance, including a grocery store and other shopping.

Staff at the Harvard Square Hotel are a fine team. If I am in Cambridge again, I will most certainly be staying here.

I highly recommend the Harvard Square Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harvard Square Hotel Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvard Square Hotel Cambridge

Address: 110 Mount Auburn Street, Cambridge, MA 02138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Harvard Square Hotel Cambridge 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harvard Square Hotel contemporary in decor is centrally located in the heart of Harvard Square. Just steps away from all that Harvard Square has to offer including the Harvard University Campus, Harvard T-Station, Charles River and the many eclectic stores and restaurants found in the Square. We are also only a few miles to downtown Boston. Our on the go Starbucks Cafe is a big hit with our guests as the head out to start their day !! We would like to thank our recent guests for their patience as we installed a brand new elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harvard Square Hotel Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvard Square Cambridge
Cambridge Harvard Square Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvard Square Hotel Cambridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.