We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Harvard location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harvard Square Hotel Cambridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Harvard Square Hotel Cambridge to your Saves list
Harvard Square Hotel Cambridge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Mount Auburn Street, Cambridge, MA 02138   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Cambridge
Beaverton, Oregon
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Harvard location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The main appeal here is the location - only about three minutes walk from Harvard Square and the T station, close to just about everything Harvard. The downside is that it's right on busy Mt Auburn St, and I found there was quite a bit of street noise at almost all hours (even late on a rainy night.) Well insulated windows help. The rooms, and the bathrooms, are compact. The decor is trendy modern. The king-size bed was very comfortable, but there were a few minor annoyances. One of the lamps didn't work (I asked to have it fixed but no luck.) And the bathroom faucet was so stiff it was hard to adjust. Prices are high, but I gather that's just Cambridge. I would stay again, mainly because it's so close to the action at Harvard.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Owner at Harvard Square Hotel Cambridge, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for posting on TripAdvisor!!

We appreciate your comments very much!!

We hope we can serve you on a future.

Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Richard Carbone
Business Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    83
    62
    21
    5
See reviews for
73
32
32
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Though I have not stayed at the Harvard Square Hotel we recently had several guests who were in town for our wedding stay at this property. I can honestly say that their customer service regarding our wedding planning was beyond my expectations and very high quality. Katelyn was wonderful for helping us keep track of wedding guests and providing our guests with all the information needed for our weekend events. The price was good for our guests as well and of course the location can't be beat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Owner at Harvard Square Hotel Cambridge, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest!!

Thank you very much for your positive comments about Katelyn our Sales coordinator!!

We were very happy to receive your TRipAdvisor posting!!

We hope to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Richard Carbone
Business Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

You'll get the most for your dollar in Cambridge if you stay at the Harvard Square Hotel. While not luxurious, the prices are exceptionally reasonable for the area, and the rooms are perfectly wonderful. The hotel has undergone a recent renovation, and have turned the rooms into a modern, upgraded dorm room feel. You have a choice of king or 2 double beds in most rooms. The beds are very comfortable. Lighting is adequate, though nothing like more luxury hotels with personalized lighting around the beds. The drawer space is plentiful, less so in the closets, though it was more than adequate for me. There was a large desk space, reminding me of something a student would use. The bathroom was very small, with a shower and no bathtub. But the decor was modern and the shower was one of those long stalls with glass covering only the front half around the large shower nozzle, leaving the back part of it exposed. Leave the door cracked open unless you want the shower steam to quickly fog up the mirror over the sink! All this said, the location is excellent, right in the middle of everything. If you are looking to spend most of your time away from the hotel and don't need to cozy up in a lobby bar, this is the perfect place. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but there are plenty of places to eat within sight of the front door. It may not be fancy, but it is well beyond adequate. And again, the price can't be beat. PS - Zacharia at the front desk was kind, personable and so helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the front of the hotel have a more active view of pedestrians than the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Had a three-day business trip to Harvard and wanted to stay in Harvard Square due to its proximity to Harvard University. You basically cannot stay in Cambridge for less than $200 per night, so searched based on location. Harvard Square Hotel turned out to be the perfect solution. Many great places to eat within a block or two and within a short walk to most of Harvard University.

Room was functional, if perhaps a bit smaller than most "big box" hotels these days. No real amenities come with this room (i.e. no in-room coffee or daily newspaper), but there is a for-pay coffee bar in the lobby. Staff is very friendly and efficient. Will definitely stay in this hotel when I am next in Cambridge.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Harvard Square have a great view of the area, which I would recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here when visiting Harvard this summer and really enjoyed it. The front desk staff were absolutely super. The lobby is bright and welcoming and although the room looked straight out of an Ikea showroom, it was comfortable, clean and cheerful. The hotel couldn't be more conveniently located, just a few moments away from the restaurants, shops, colour and cacophony of Harvard Square, yet quiet and utterly peaceful.
It's not a luxury hotel but it doesn't pretend to be. Giving it five stars as it is real value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel is well placed for access to the whole area of Cambridge and to the transport systems for downtown Boston. The staff were all very friendly and helpful both with matters relating to our stay and with general advice on the area. The rooms were very clean, tidy and comfortable and providedwith free wi-fi. Although drinks could be bought fom the reception area we would have appreciated those facilities being provided in our room but that is only a very minor complaint and did not detract from our very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: For a view of the nightlife in the square specify a front room - you get good outlook but the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I just stayed here for a conference. The accommodations were wonderful. Very clean and modern rooms. Great location for exercising, shopping eating. Close to T stop. Friendly and courteous service. Highly recommended for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Ask to look out on the main street, not the 'back'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harvard Square Hotel Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvard Square Hotel Cambridge

Address: 110 Mount Auburn Street, Cambridge, MA 02138
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#14 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Harvard Square Hotel Cambridge 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harvard Square Hotel contemporary in decor is centrally located in the heart of Harvard Square. Just steps away from all that Harvard Square has to offer including the Harvard University Campus, Harvard T-Station, Charles River and the many eclectic stores and restaurants found in the Square. We are also only a few miles to downtown Boston. Our on the go Starbucks Cafe is a big hit with our guests as the head out to start their day !! We would like to thank our recent guests for their patience as we installed a brand new elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Harvard Square Hotel Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvard Square Cambridge
Cambridge Harvard Square Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvard Square Hotel Cambridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.