We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Commander Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Commander Hotel
16 Garden St, Cambridge, MA 02138   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Cambridge
South Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Awesome Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Went up with my wife and friends. I was on business, but they played. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their time. It was a homecoming of sorts as my wife and I were engaged in Boston some years ago. The hotel gave us piece-of-mind to go and do as we pleased. Very hospitable. The location was great as we had stayed 12 miles outside the city previously. Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkne21, General Manager at Sheraton Commander Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear LUTiger16,

Thank you for your nice comments from your recent stay with us. It's great to hear our location worked for your needs of business and pleasure. Thank you for choosing us.

I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in town.

Warm Regards,

Michael Guleserian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    157
    62
    37
    11
See reviews for
98
58
31
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at the sheraton commander the first week end of September 2013 to attend a wedding. We went out Friday morning and to my surprise when I got back my only Donald J pliner casual sandals that I brought with me was taken out of the room. I honestly taught that it was inside my bag . It really hit me when it was time to go to the airport and I only had 3 inches heels and my sandals that I travel in with was stolen. I informed the hotel manager but I had to talk to house keeping. The few words that I could understand from that department was whoever clean my room was there for more than 25years. Of course nobody start stealing after 25 years!!!but the truth of the matter was that I had to call someone to bring me a pair of flip flop because I had 2 babies with me. I'm still waiting for answers from the hotel staff and they are rude , the hotel is old and if you weigh more than 200lbs don't take that ancient elevator that can barely fit 4people. We travel a lot and by far it was the worse experience we ever had and I'm still exploring my options because it's 2013 and the sheraton can do better!

Room Tip: Nothing is good about that place
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkne21, General Manager at Sheraton Commander Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Maggie A,

Thank you for offering feedback from your stay with us in early September. I'm sorry you had a negative experience while you were our guest. I am sorry we were unable to find your lost scandals. We will continue to look for them and will contact you if anything is found. Please feel free to contact me directly at michael.guleserian@sheraton.com for any additional follow-up.

Warmest Regards,

Michael Guleserian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

There has to be a better hotel in the area or at least one less expensive. This hotel is old, creepy, dingy and loud and the staff is mediocre at best. Save yourself a few hundred dollars and go elsewhere. They shouldn't put this in the Starwood package.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkne21, General Manager at Sheraton Commander Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear BSK221,

Thank you for taking time to offer feedback from your recent visit. I'm sorry we did not meet your expectations while you were our guest. Please contact me at michael.guleserian@sheraton.com so I can learn more about your experience and correct any issues for you and future guests.

Warm Regards,

Michael Guleserian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Spent a very successful week with my teenager in a lovely corner room in the back (I asked for a "quiet room"). We had "club" privileges, which gave us 24-hour access to a nice big sitting room with windows, tables and comfortable chairs; on the 6th floor, it was a great place to relax or do homework, with unlimited beverages and small snacks; during regular morning and evening hours, breakfast and hors d'oeuvres were served by friendly staff. The fitness room on the 1st floor is also nice; modern equipment and window views, The staff at the Commander are first-rate, welcoming, helpful, personable, yet highly professional and efficient. While the hotel is expensive (particularly at the club level), it's location near Harvard Square, and across from Harvard, particularly the law school, make the Commander a logical, convenient and very enjoyable choice.

Room Tip: Suggest "quiet room" in the back, on a corner if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkne21, General Manager at Sheraton Commander Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear 758Kathy4144,

Thank you for the Tripadvisor review. I'm glad our location worked well for your needs. It's nice to hear you were able to take advantage of the Club Lounge and Sheraton Fitness while staying with us. I'll be sure to pass on your comments to my team. They will be excited to hear your praise of them.

Please come back soon.

Warm Regards,

Michael Guleserian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel's age and drabness are the overwhelming factors in considering it for a stay. It's well-located for proximity to Harvard's law school and science complexes, but not as well located as the Charles for proximity to the Yard, the Square and the T station. Although renovations may have taken place, the place still smells musty and stale, in that old-hotel-that's-been-around-too-long way. I had a king room, and the suites or club rooms may have more to recommend them, but mine was just acceptable, and it's clear why Starwood didn't upgrade this at least one category in its hierarchy of properties.

The Sweet Sleeper bed is as always very comfortable. But the small room was awkwardly laid out in a space that felt like an afterthought, with the bathroom broken up into a dressing/clothes rack/sink area; and a separate, minute space across the entrance foyer for the toilet, shower/tub, and a second sink. This second sink was so small that it didn't have enough surrounding counter space to place any toiletries, so it was really only useful for washing your hands after using the toilet and then getting out. The toilet itself was so awkwardly located in the cramped space behind the door that even as a solo traveler I had to enter the bathroom, move back, turn to close the door, and only then be able to use the toilet without it being blocked by the door. The shower is a nice one with a curved curtain rod, which I always like to have; but the drainage was poor and I kept finding myself standing in stale water up to my ankles as I finished showering. At least this was a function of excellent water pressure in the shower; in both sinks, the water pressure was very weak and thus hard to use effectively for washing/rinsing; and furthermore the wait for it to get hot so I could shave was ridiculously long - I was on the verge of reporting having no hot water in the taps before it finally started to warm up.

I like Sheraton's house toiletries, but I didn't even get one bar of soap for each of the three sources of running water. Then housekeeping took the soap from the shower on my first morning and didn't replace it, leaving me carrying the one bar of soap I had left from the dressing space sink across to the bathtub and back again. Really?

Because of the hotel's E-shaped construction, many rooms only have a view of other rooms across the interior airshaft-type spaces, and so my room had a complicated system of light filtering blinds and blackout blinds, designed to allow you to completely block the vista of the ugly facade across from mine, and the view of me that the occupants of the many rooms across the space would otherwise have. The television didn't work when I arrived, and I had to call for service to fix it; but it is also awkwardly located, as it can't be watched from the bed, and faces a pair of particularly ugly wing chairs placed across the room from it in a kitty-corner arrangement. They may be going for "colonial" atmosphere, but they look like they were pulled out of storage. I just used them to throw things on. No coffee table of any sort, and no mini-bar, but a decent desk and free wi-fi. If you want a snack, buy it before the gift shop closes at 9 PM as there is no vending except for sodas.

The hotel has no porte cochere, a reasonable function of being an old building on a Cambridge city street; but there was also no doorman at any time to help with luggage as you climbed up or down the stairs between the main door and the sidewalk. Felt a little more like a Four Points than a Sheraton having to lug my stuff to the reception desk before the first staffer was there to greet me. I didn't eat there, but the room service prices are at luxury hotel level and I wouldn't have bothered anyhow with all the options in Harvard Square a few minutes away; it also ends at 11 PM.

All in all, a disappointing experience (at check-in the clerk made a point of telling me that she had never had any complaints about the room - LOL), and I would never suggest this as a place to stay for someone who is visiting for any purpose but its convenience to the university.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room on the outside perimeter of the building would have a view of some sort of the city a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkne21, General Manager at Sheraton Commander Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Mark K,

Thank you for offering a detailed review from your recent stay with us. While I'm glad you liked our Sweet Sleeper Beds, our location and the shower, I'm sorry we did not meet your expectations in other areas. I will share your comments with my team and will work to improve the areas you pointed out. We are always looking to improve our hotel and service.

I hope that you will stay here the next time you visit Cambridge I'm sure we can find a room with a different layout that better suits your needs.

Warmly,

Michael Guleserian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rootstown
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Great staff. Very accomodating. The catering service was excellent. Following the breakout session of our meetings, it was great to have the food services stations. The meals were expectional, and vegetarian options were outstanding.

Room Tip: Catering and staff was exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkne21, General Manager at Sheraton Commander Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Denise S,

Thank you for writing a Tripadvisor review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our food after your meeting. I'll be sure to pass your comments onto our culinary team. They will be thrilled that you enjoyed the vegetarian options.

Warmest Regards,

Michael Guleserian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is an old hotel so it has tiny, slow elevators and odd shaped rooms. But that's no excuse for inadequate lighting, bad TV reception, and not enough plugs on the desk. It did have a ethernet cord, however. I would have given this hotel 3 stars but there are problems in the bathroom. The tub is fine, but the sink has an aerator on the faucet that slows the flow of water and makes it nearly impossible to fill the basin. They could have had a small basin and accomplished the water-saving purpose that way, but waiting forever for enough water is not fun. Plus, while the basin was filling, the hot water ran out. That's just unacceptable. The hotel is well located if you have business at Harvard..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkne21, General Manager at Sheraton Commander Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear jxx9595,

Thank you for the feedback from your recent stay with us. I'm glad our location was good for your needs. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations in regards to the water flow in your room. I have passed your comments to my team who will work to improve our hotel in these areas for future guests. I hope the next time you visit Cambridge you stay with us again for a flawless stay.

Warm Regards,

Michael Guleserian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Commander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Commander Hotel

Address: 16 Garden St, Cambridge, MA 02138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Commander is a Harvard Square landmark on Cambridge Common. Our luxurious hotel is by Fenway Park, Freedom Trail, and downtown Boston. We have elegant event space for wedding & meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Starwood and Expedia so you can book your Sheraton Commander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Cambridge
Cambridge Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Commander Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.