We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyed this hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Commander Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Commander Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Garden St, Cambridge, MA 02138   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Cambridge
Seattle, WA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed this hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

The Sheraton Commander Hotel is small for a "Sheraton", but that's one of the things that made it great. It had character, and was excellently maintained. It's a short walk to Harvard Commons and to mass transit. Their parking was expensive, but not any more expensive than the limited options in the area. We only ate once in the hotel's restaurant; the dinner and dessert were both good and the service perfect.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    170
    65
    37
    11
See reviews for
101
63
33
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Stayed here for one night for a business conference. Was pleasantly surprised by the historic building, the general upkeep, design, food service and the room quality. The bed was extremely comfortable too.

I would definitely recommend this hotel. Did not have time to explore surroundings, so couldn't say much about surroundings, except that I walked to dinner (about 5 minutes) and there seem to be a lot of people out and about.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Good location near Harvard university. There is easy access to the city centre on the T-subway.

It is a standard hotel: comfortable with good service but nothing spectacular. It is probably one of the more affordable hotels in the wider Boston area, however more expensive than B&B's.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

I've not spent more on a hotel room in recent memory. This one did not meet expectations based on the price. My room was on the club level next to the club lounge. As a result I was woken up each morning to the sound of hotel staff clanging around in that room getting things ready. Oh, did I imply I got sleep. Not likely. The street noise even on the sixth floor was intrusive. Add that to the air conditioner that roared every time it came on and there was not much sleep to be had. I will say the bed and bedding were very comfortable. My other complaint was the poor plumbing. This hotel is obviously old, but you would have thought they would have installed scald valves for the shower when they updated. My shower started out hot, then cold, then warm, then hot again. Very inconsistent.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan USA
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

The Commander dates from the 1920s but has been updated. The Elevators tend to be small and slow, but everything else is relatively modern. Harvard Sq is about 1/2 mile away and a large assortment of shops, restaurants and academic institutions are nearby. While there are newer and larger hotels in the region, for access to Harvard, this is about as good as it gets. The large neon sign helps guide people out for a late-night walk back to the hotel. No problems worth mentioning. Parking is $30/night.

Room Tip: Upper floors have better views of the surrounding
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halfmoon,NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We have stayed at many Sheratons. We generally like them. Were we surprised when our GPS directed us to a quaint area of Cambridge Mass, right near Harvard .This old gem dates back to the 20s; it retains the old charm ; but from a comfort standpoint- as modern as any Sheraton.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is a great hotel, wonderful staff, comfortable and clean rooms. I highly recommend it for both short business trips and longer family vacations. It is in a great location, convenient to all points in Cambridge and public transportation in and around Boston.

Room Tip: Get a Starwood card for possible room upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Commander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Commander Hotel

Address: 16 Garden St, Cambridge, MA 02138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#15 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Commander Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Commander is a Harvard Square landmark on Cambridge Common. Our luxurious hotel is by Fenway Park, Freedom Trail, and downtown Boston. We have elegant event space for wedding & meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia and Starwood so you can book your Sheraton Commander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Cambridge
Cambridge Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Commander Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.