We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sonesta Boston to your Saves list
Royal Sonesta Boston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Edwin Land Blvd, Cambridge, MA 02142   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

From the moment Jacqui checked us in and allocated us a room with a wonderful ever-changing view of the Charles River, we had a perfect stay here. The staff in the Arts Bar, both at breakfast time and in the evening were very attentive and the concierge was able to give us helpful tips for seeing the town.

We were here on a 40th wedding anniversary trip and when we came back in the evening, Jacqui remembered our names and congratulated us again. What a lovely ambience in this hotel, even though it is large.

Walking into town is easy and the T station at Lechmere is a few minutes away; there are plenty of places to eat locally.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    568
    158
    82
    36
See reviews for
371
409
84
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana en Provence
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Have stayed here multiple times for business -- good restaurants, nice rooms, good business amenities and good location. Bonus, right on the Charles River jogging path. (When you come back from your morning run they have water, towels and fruit waiting for you.) Mall just across the street and easy cab into Harvard Square.

Room Tip: Get a river view room if you can -- the end rooms have outstanding windows and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel was perfect for us -- we were in town to ride the duck boat out of the Science Center and have dinner down by the harbor. It was simple to park here, walk to the Science Center and much more, with our three children under the age of 7. The decor was modern, clean and inviting. Our view of Boston was stunning, although you pay extra for that. What amazed me was how accommodating things were for our rowdy family. The pool was beautiful, and even included a tub of noodles, kickboards and balls. The noon checkout was generous these days (some places kick you out at 10AM!), and we could keep our car there beyond that time at no extra charge. My kids were given crayons and coloring books by the front desk, and we loved the mall across the street for a simple bagel and coffee breakfast (it has a great outdoor seating area by an inlet from the river). We were so pleased that we decided to make a stop here every summer when we take our annual family trip to visit relatives in Massachusetts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSonesta, Manager at Royal Sonesta Boston, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Royal Sonesta Hotel Boston with the TripAdvisor community! We are absolutely delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to being part of your Massachusetts visits in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A very well run hotel with attentive staff, great housekeeping and attention to detail. I was only at the hotel for one night but was given early check-in since I was attending an afternoon wedding and needed to freshen up prior to the event. My room overlooked the Charles River and a small marina with a view to the Science Museum and a striking view of a distant modern bridge. The staff was always courteous and helpful. The hotel overlooks the river on one side and a shopping mall on the other so if you need to shop while in historic Boston you will be in heaven! The Cambridge location is great (and was only a brief $13 trip to South Station in light traffic which was a miracle in Boston on a Monday at 11AM. A stylish, very comfortable hotel. I didn't use the recreational facilities but they are likely as well run as the rest of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room that faces the marina, 407 was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Vermont, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is our 3rd stay here, and each time we are very pleased. The views of the river and the Boston skyline are breathtaking. The rooms are exceptionally clean, and the staff is wonderful. It's fairly priced, and close to the T. The location is perfect (right across from a mall, next to the Science Museum, close to a T stop, right across from a trolley stop, and right on the river with access to kayaking and the bike path,) the hotel itself (including the rooms) is very clean, and the people are considerate, courteous, and knowledgeable of the Boston area. One of the best values in town!

Room Tip: Ask about special pricing. The extra money for the rooms with a view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSonesta, Manager at Royal Sonesta Boston, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and for being a repeat visitor to the Royal Sonesta Hotel Boston! We greatly appreciate your kind comments and your business, and we look forward to having you in again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Truly a first class wedding. The staff was the biggest gift.

The parking was simple and the T was about 1/3 mile away - easy walk.

Right on the Charles with fantastic walking right out the front/back door. No traffic, just the river.

The free boat ride was the cherry on the ice cream!

Room Tip: The views of the Charles River really set a good mood!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel is really nice. The rooms are very modern, clean and comfortable with really good views. The staff are all very friendly, and willing to help you if required. Breakfast is lovely;there is lots to choose from such as croissants, muffins, fruit etc. In general, the hotel is very well maintained, with nice staff and great views. I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sonesta Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Boston

Address: 40 Edwin Land Blvd, Cambridge, MA 02142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular views surround you at the luxurious and newly renovated Royal Sonesta Boston. Set on the Cambridge side of the Charles River, this distinctive, modern hotel features original contemporary art, exceptional service, and one of the city's best pools. Its ideal location puts you minutes from the best of Boston, with shopping, museums and historic sites all nearby. Known as one of the city's best luxury hotels, all of its 400 well-appointed guest rooms overlook the Charles River, Cambridge or Boston's stunning skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Royal Sonesta Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.