We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatly exceeded our expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sonesta Boston to your Saves list
Royal Sonesta Boston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Edwin Land Blvd, Cambridge, MA 02142   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Greatly exceeded our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We recently stayed at the Royal Sonesta. The location is ideal. Close enough to everything but quiet and more reasonable than staying across the river in Boston. We have 2 kids ages 8 & 5 and took advantage of their "free" movie night at the pool w/ complimentary popcorn, we also went for an enjoyable bike ride along the St. Charles river (tandem bikes and kid's bikes along w/ helmets were available). The kids also enjoyed the scavenger hunt available at the front desk and redeemed a cool prize from the friendly front desk staff. The rooms are super clean and spacious enough for 4 (we had 2 queens, river facing). Valet service was prompt and friendly too. I had never stayed at this hotel before but would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Royal Sonesta Boston, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Royal Sonesta Hotel for your most recent trip to Boston. We are delighted to hear that you and your family took advantage of our Summer Fest perks! It sounds like you didn’t miss a step – experiencing the poolside movie, bike rentals and the scavenger hunt! Thank you for sharing your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    568
    158
    82
    36
See reviews for
371
409
84
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed here for a 5 day break in Boston and chose the hotel, in part, due to the recommendations on this website. We weren’t disappointed. It’s a great location overlooking the river, close the T stop, easy to get to Harvard and next to the Mall. The rooms are a good size and clean but our first room (518) suffered from external noise from an air conditioning unit. When we complained the staff arranged a new room immediately and courteously. The staff on the desk and concierges were always polite and helpful. For those who want a breakfast away from the hotel I would suggest the Mall opposite where you can buy a range of foods from fresh fruit and granola through to doughnuts. The hotel also runs a free shuttle bus to a variety of locations in the City and to Harvard which we found useful when we needed it.

Room Tip: A room with a smaller number may be quieter than those further along the corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed at the Royal Sonesta for 4 nights in June 2011, first time visiting Boston.

Really can’t praise this hotel enough; the staff were so welcoming & helping, the hotel itself is really tastefully decorated with lots of art/sculptures, our room was lovely and the eateries were really nice too.

We had a really clean, modern room with lovely comfortable beds and a big bathroom. The hotel provided us with a little ‘movie night’ kit with popcorn, chocolates & a movie voucher – a really nice little touch to welcome us on our first night. We took breakfast every morning at the hotel and ate it overlooking the Charles River. Such a lovely setting. Breakfast room was very well stocked and had a really great selection of breads, meats, cereals, fruit, etc. We ate once in the restaurant in the evening too, which was lovely. Nice food and nice wine.

Although the hotel is located more downtown, the transport links are great and they provide a shuttle service to the Prudential Centre. It’s also just across the road from a Mall which has food shops, Macy’s, Abercrombie.....

Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Royal Sonesta Boston, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
We will be sure to share your feedback and praise with our team. The patio at restaurant ArtBar is the perfect location to enjoy breakfast while enjoying Boston’s skyline, we are happy to hear you took advantage of the view every morning! Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your first trip to Boston, we appreciate your support and would welcome the opportunity to welcome you back should your travels bring you back our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Best conference hotel experience I've had. Not a cheap hotel. The conference rate was $199.00 for a king room. Cambridge is just across the river from downtown Boston. There's a nice newish little mall right across the street - the Galleria: Starbucks, Macy's, food court etc which is extremely convenient.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

great location...close to everything but away from the crowds.
The Sonnabend family created another excellent hotel. The views,
the food, the beds!!!

Room Tip: high floor - Charles River/City view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSonesta, Manager at Royal Sonesta Boston, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you very much for the kind review – we will share your appreciation with our team and look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Sonesta Hotel Boston on your next trip to the city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Love the hotel! The location, rooms, service was excellent! The staff was courteous and very helpful! Love the room. Tastefully decorated. bright and modern! The property was pristine and well- maintained. I am very pleased with the experience!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, USA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This hotel is beautiful with a great location and views of the Charles River. The front desk and bar staff, however, need a refresher course on customer service.
Our government rate room was gorgeous but it came with a continental breakfast for only one person. The toast & coffee had an equivalent price of $14.00. A bit high for a piece of bread. We opted to walk across the street to the Dunkin' Donuts for our morning meals. Our "clean" room came with a full set of clipped toenails on the floor next to the bed. Gross! Cleaning staff came in to take care of it... front desk had no apology.
We went into the bar for cocktails. My specifically drink came complete with garnish of a brown,dead sprig of basil. When I pointed this out to the bartender, she gave the sprig a close examination, pulled off the dead bits and put it aside (I imagine the next customer would be receiving it) We asked if free bar snacks were available... and were informed that we could purchase snacks.We inquired if they had free peanuts or crackers (Since the specialty drinks were @12.00 a piece, we were not willing to spend more on food)The bartender said, "Oh, we have coated peanuts & peas"& brought a small bowl over to us.
The next morning we decided to take a swim in the beautiful indoor pool. The water was SO cold, we left right away.
When checking out, there was a bar charge for over $90.00 on our tab that was not ours.The front desk staff said" You have to talk to the bar about that,"The front desk is the front desk, the bar bill is the bar, go see the manager there". Seriously? We'll be staying elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSonesta, Manager at Royal Sonesta Boston, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Sue MacD,

We are sorry to hear that your experience at the Royal Sonesta Hotel Boston was not a pleasant one. I assure you that our colleagues work hard to make the guests’ stay an enjoyable one and I apologize that you did not receive better service.

Thank you for providing us the detailed feedback, we will share this with the appropriate departments for review in resolution. We would also welcome the opportunity to talk to you further about this experience, please contact our Director of Rooms George Lanzillo at glanzillo@sonesta-boston.com. While we might not have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Royal Sonesta Hotel Boston in the future, we do hope that you will consider staying at Sonesta Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Kind regards,
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sonesta Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Boston

Address: 40 Edwin Land Blvd, Cambridge, MA 02142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular views surround you at the luxurious and newly renovated Royal Sonesta Boston. Set on the Cambridge side of the Charles River, this distinctive, modern hotel features original contemporary art, exceptional service, and one of the city's best pools. Its ideal location puts you minutes from the best of Boston, with shopping, museums and historic sites all nearby. Known as one of the city's best luxury hotels, all of its 400 well-appointed guest rooms overlook the Charles River, Cambridge or Boston's stunning skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Royal Sonesta Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.