We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of centre - better value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sonesta Boston to your Saves list
Royal Sonesta Boston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Edwin Land Blvd, Cambridge, MA 02142   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Cambridge
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Out of centre - better value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Chose this hotel as reasonable price and it appeared to have better facilities than hotels in central Boston. Cab from Logan airport took about 20 mins and cost $30 (incl tip). Modern hotel with lovely pool (which we used very early in morning as body clock still on GMT). Helpful concierge. Although not in central Boston, hotel enjoys lovely views from north bank of river overlooking Boston. Choice of two nearby 'T' (underground railway) stations about 10-15 mins away. Dept stores and cafes opposite hotel.

Room Tip: South side have river view, but are a premium rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    537
    154
    77
    34
See reviews for
354
386
81
357
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middleboro, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed here last winter. We got a great deal on a Saturday night. The hotel's restaurant DANTE was fabulous! Breakfast the next day was excellent too. There's a nice lounge too called ART BAR. Room & bed was very comfortable. Walls were a little thin and could hear other noises. This property is located within walking distance to The Cambridge Side Mall with The Cheese Cake Factory Restaurant in it.

Room Tip: We asked for the water view of Charles River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Came here during Labor's Day weekend and I had a wonderful time. The hotel offers free parking and boat tours. We upgraded the room to have a view of the Charles River for only $20. It is also located by many restaurants and a minutes walk away from the metro.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I took my kids as well as my sister/husband in-laws kids to the hotel for a night's stay. We visited the Children's Museum and the Science Museum in the 2 days. It was great. My 4 year old really liked the automated fixtures in the baths :) He also commented on the holiday decorations each time we past by the lobby. It was nice to see a gingerbread house there in the lobby that the kids could take interest in. Oh yah, the free cookies at the front desk were a big hit as well. I would definitely recommend the stay to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSonesta, Manager at Royal Sonesta Boston, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed the holiday decorations! The Gingerbread house was new this year and we will definitely be creating a tradition and having one in the lobby for future years. The cookies are made daily by our bake shop team. I will share with them that they were enjoyed! We wish you safe travels & hope to see you back at the hotel on your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Obviously the hotel has straightened up since the recent poor reviews because we just returned from a great stay at this hotel. Staff was very pleasant and helpful (especially the woman at the information desk). Rooms were clean and comfortable. Not only was this our first visit to this hotel but it was our first visit to Boston. Hotel was very convenient to attractions and the price was good based on location.
The only thing I would recommend to the hotel is to upgrade their pillows and shower heads...sub par for such a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 7th floor...very quiet. Free parking was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shore MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed overnight after visiting friends for a New Years Eve dinner. We were very impressed at the value for our dollar. We had a lovely room, which was spotless, had a comfortable king size bed and overlooked the Charles River. The bedding was luxurious and the room was well lit and tastefully decorated with a modern flair. Our television did not work properly and with one call, a technician arrived immediately to reprogram it. We were so pleased with such prompt and polite service.The only complaint I would share is the high price for a cup of coffee in the lobby restaurant. About $4 after tip Would highly recommend this hotel though and will book again in the future.

Room Tip: ask for a river view room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for a few days in December and were so impressed. The rooms are lovely and spacious and in have all the latest mod cons. The view we had of the river was also fantastic. It also has a business centre and health club - all fantastic. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSonesta, Manager at Royal Sonesta Boston, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and the view at the Royal Sonesta Hotel Boston. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sonesta Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Boston

Address: 40 Edwin Land Blvd, Cambridge, MA 02142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#9 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular views surround you at the luxurious and newly renovated Royal Sonesta Boston. Set on the Cambridge side of the Charles River, this distinctive, modern hotel features original contemporary art, exceptional service, and one of the city's best pools. Its ideal location puts you minutes from the best of Boston, with shopping, museums and historic sites all nearby. Known as one of the city's best luxury hotels, all of its 400 well-appointed guest rooms overlook the Charles River, Cambridge or Boston's stunning skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Sonesta Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.