We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel next to the Charles river” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Save Saved
You added Royal Sonesta Boston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Sonesta Boston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Edwin Land Blvd, Cambridge, MA 02142   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Cambridge
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great hotel next to the Charles river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed here at the end of June 2011 as a conference we were attending was being held here. This is a really smart hotel with all the amenities (and room rates to match). It's located right on the Charles river in Cambridge (not central Boston, as the hotel name might imply) and it's near to Lechmere T-station on the green line.

What we liked:
+ The rooms were in a good state of repair and tastefully decorated.
+ The amenities (spa, pool etc.).
+ Guests at the hotel can enjoy a free tourist boat ride from the harbour just behind the hotel (normal price ~$14). It lasts about an hour and is quite informative.
+ The food options at the hotel are good but a bit pricey. There are a good selection of eateries just across the road, including a P. F. Chang's and a Cheesecake Factory. There's also a large mall there with a Starbucks and an Au Bon Pain.
+ Wi-Fi is free but only at a basic level (i.e. not really suitable for YouTube or large downloads). You can pay to get a faster service.
+ On the whole, the staff was very professional and attentive.

What we weren't so keen on:
- When using the hotel's website, you are clearly given the option to choose either a king bed or two queen beds. We chose the latter but, when we were checking in, were told the booking was made for a king room. I showed the receptionist my print-out and, after a short wait for the manager's permission, she gave us a room with two beds. Clearly the website doesn't function as it should so I strongly recommend you bring a printout of your booking confirmation.
- The website also does not offer the facility to enter the names of all the room occupants (just the person making the booking). This led to problems for my other colleagues who arrived three hours apart. The hotel eventually let the first person check in after calling the person who'd actually made the booking. I recommend adding your roomie's name in the requests box just in case.
- We were unable to flush the toilet in our room so I called maintenance at about 11 a.m. Upon returning at about 7 p.m. I found that nothing had been done; however, after a second call it was eventually sorted.
- The interconnecting door was not sufficiently insulated and we could hear everything going on in the next room (and I daresay they could hear us).
- Background music is played throughout the public areas of the hotel. This somehow managed to interfere with the audio equipment being used at the conference. This was extremely disruptive to the presentations and, apparently, it was not possible to turn it off so nothing was done (this is rubbish in my opinion). Additionally, one evening there was a party in the hotel's outdoor bar. The music of this could be clearly heard throughout the presentations. Why have an outdoor party when you know there's a conference on, which provides a great source of revenue?

The minor problems aside, this is a very pleasant hotel with many excellent amenities. I would certainly recommend it for leisure but I'd probably think twice before organising a conference there.

Room Tip: Get a room in the west tower as the views and layouts are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    507
    141
    73
    32
See reviews for
342
362
80
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macomb, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

I took the family to Boston for the Fourth of July week vacation. We stayed at another hotel for the first couple of days, but we felt like it was away from all of the attractions. So, during the week I switched to the Royal Sonesta. I wish I had found this place sooner. It was right on the water and we would have had a perfect view of the fireworks show. But anyway, we loved it here. Very clean and well decorated and easy to get to many attractions in the area. There is even a big mall right across the street. The best part was that this was affordably priced.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSonesta, Manager at Royal Sonesta Boston, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
We are so glad you discovered us after switching hotels. Thank you for your great comments! Hopefully you can make celebrating July 4th with us an annual event!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Considering that we were traveling with our children, 7 and 5 mo. old, we wanted to be able to take in the firework show minus the crowds and the noise (didn't want to startle little one). We decided on the Royal Sonesta after reading reviews and because it sits right on the Charles River. Although they do not guarantee a view of the fireworks show, it was perfect. We requested a riverfront view and we had a room in the West Wing on the 7th floor facing the river and the spectacular fireworks show. The staff was wonderful, polite and informative. We made our way to Harvard Square and we could not have been more pleased with our choice after seeing where we could have ended up. Staying on the river, as opposed to "in town," whether as a family or for couples/singles is the way to go. Beautiful room, beautiful views, take a leisurely stroll alongside the river, take a dip in the pool, there is a spa (sorry I didn't get a chance to indulge), dry sauna, choice of restaurants, valet parking and a big plus...the CambridgeSide Mall right across the street. As an aside, take a stroll to the Friendly Toast...its where the locals eat and food is great. Should I head back to the Boston/Cambridge area, we will no doubt stay at the Royal Sonesta.

Room Tip: Request a River front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSonesta, Manager at Royal Sonesta Boston, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of the Hotel. We look forward to welcoming back you and your family when you return to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

If you are considering experiencing the 4th of July celebration in Boston, this is an excellent place to use as home base. The hotel borders the Charles River, right around the corner from some of the prime real estate viewing areas for the 4th of July fireworks.

The standard rooms are well appointed, and average in terms of space. The views are the real special quality here. The staff, during our 4th of July stay, handled the vacation crowd very well. We didn't experience any frayed tempers or less-than-professional behavior among the staff.

The only admonition I can offer here is to avoid those connecting rooms; the ones that have a door allowing access to an adjacent room, if you reserve both. If you don't reserve both rooms, and if your neighbors are loud and boisterous, as ours were, then you will become inadvertent ear-hustlers, and you will absolutely be annoyed by the noise, as late as it goes. Also, you will be subjected to any odd odors that might emanate from the adjacent room; in our case we were awakened by the smell of Ben-gay before 6 a.m., on the 4th of July. Not the way we wanted to celebrate.

Otherwise, the place works very well as a base from which to explore Boston.

Room Tip: Request a room, above the 5th floor that faces the Museum of Science for a great view of the Zakim B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011 via mobile

Stayed at the sonesta for 6 nights in total we came to Boston for friends wedding which was being held at the sonesta so was able to get a slightly better deal on the room! Our room was a standard room with a view of the Cambridge river! The view was stunning and overlooked Boston and the river it was hard to leave the room it was that good!!! The rooms were huge and were cleaned daily to a very high standard! Just watch out as they leave bottles of water on the desk for you which I assumed was free on check out was then charged $4.76 per bottle!!! We did not eat at the hotel apart from the wedding and the food was lush!! Huge portions and tasted great! So if the chef can produce food like that fir a large number I am sure all the other food available in the hotel is great too! They have the art bar which is a great place for done cocktails! Outdoor patio and overlooking the river great atmosphere! All the staff at this hotel were always happy and helpful! The location is great it's oppersite a shopping mall with great shops and a huge food court! As well as the cheesecake factory which is a must! It's $10 in a cab to Boston city center which is great as well! You can do trolly tours if the city both Boston and Cambridge and you can buy them just outside the hotel by the mall! One tip for tea drinkers! Breakfast tea is like gold dust!!! Bring some with you if you want a cup of tea! Not even Starbucks do it!!!!!! Overall I am a hotelier myself so am hard to please but this hotel is 5 star plus in my mind!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSonesta, Manager at Royal Sonesta Boston, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Hotel! It's especially rewarding to get such great comments from a fellow hotelier.

I hope you consider the Royal Sonesta on your next trip to Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

This hotel met all our requirements: value for money, great location, clean, quiet, friendly service. We opted for the more expensive Boston view room, which really is a must. Initially we were given a room on the 3rd floor with a tiny window, but after a quick phone call to reception, we were given a much better room on the 5th floor with a much bigger window, and a great view of Boston. The room didn't appear to be recently redecorated, and the window had a repair to a large crack in the centre, but this wasn't really a problem. The cleaning staff were extremely friendly, courteous, and professional, and are definitely an asset to the hotel's staff. At the moment it's summerfest, which means you get a complimentary boat tour along the Charles, bike hire and ice cream! A real delighter!

Room Tip: Ask for a better room if you're not happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSonesta, Manager at Royal Sonesta Boston, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments especially about our wonderful staff. I hope you will once again consider the Royal Sonesta when you return to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights, while attending a conference. Location was great. There is a big mall across the street from the hotel. There are a lot of places to eat around the area. The room was cleaned well each and every day. They have free tea and coffee, also free internet. The only disappointing thing was that I could hear every word from my neighbor in the adjoining room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sonesta Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Boston

Address: 40 Edwin Land Blvd, Cambridge, MA 02142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#9 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Boston 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular views surround you at the luxurious Royal Sonesta Boston. Set on the Cambridge side of the Charles River, this distinctive, modern hotel features original contemporary art, exceptional service, and one of the city's best pools. Its ideal location puts you minutes from the best of Boston, with shopping, museums and historic sites all nearby. Known as one of the city's best luxury hotels, all of its 400 well-appointed guest rooms overlook the Charles River, Cambridge or Boston's stunning skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Royal Sonesta Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.