We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don´t let the "spa" fool you” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   575 Memorial Drive, Overlooking Boston, Cambridge, MA 02139-4896   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast for Two
Ranked #12 of 17 hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mosfellsbaer, Iceland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Don´t let the "spa" fool you”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for four days in september and the rooms were good, especially the beds.
BUT, the spa was not good it was worn down and dirty, the pool was cold and the sauna was cold too... When you pay over $300 per night i would think these things should be in order.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    225
    321
    213
    104
    64
See reviews for
218
190
66
323
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in November. It is a nice enough hotel. I agree, some of the public spaces could use a face-lift but the rooms appeared updated and very clean and well taken care of. I had a two-double bed room in the front of the hotel overlooking the river and the city of Boston. I had never stayed on the Cambridge side before and it did seem quite far away - particularly if you were heading to the waterfront (I actually spent a fair amount of money on cabs between the city and hotel). I didn't use it, but there is a free shuttle to take you to nearby T-stations.

Unfortunately we did have a 6:45am fire alarm. The hotel responded quickly and din't make us evacuate outside on a cold morning. It was over in about 10 and sleep could resume - although given the number of people at breakfast that morning, the alarm fully woke everyone up.

I wouldn't have any hesitations to stay here again - particularly if you have a car or were visiting Cambridge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here on Friday, October 19th. From the moment we arrived we felt welcome. The (presumably) head doorman, David, is in a league of his own! Check-in was quick, efficient and friendly. We were given a room with a beautiful view of the Charles which enabled us to see all the rowing action. The room was perfectly fine and, considering the hotel was full, incredibly quiet. We enjoyed a drink in the lounge before going out for dinner and found it enjoyable. We had a fine breakfast the next morning. All in all, I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing M, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review! Head of the Charles weekend, was an extremely fun and busy weekend for the hotel. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our great views of the rowing. We hope to welcome you back for next year’s event, if not sooner. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Otherwise, I wouldn't stay here as its a bit more expensive than comparable hotels. The room was large and nice enough and had a nice view of the parking lot, but the rest of the hotel feels a bit outdated. This hotel is great if you want to stay on the otherside of MIT, but around the hotel there isn't much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights whilst visiting our son and daughter in law in Boston. The hotel was clean and efficient but lacking in character, that said it is a business class hotel and ideal for short stays. One point though the air conditioning our room was noisy but we only used it intermittently. Tip it takes a few minutes to switch off so be patient.We opted for a river view and this kept us occupied looking at the many boats and numerous joggers who use the footpaths. The hotel is well positioned for crossing Massachusetts avenue and getting strait into downtown Boston. Alternatively if you don’t feel too energetic then cabs are available from reception or you could use the shuttle bus service provided by the hotel. The shuttle connects you to the main drop off points around Boston and also Cambridge. The bar area is clean and the service we found to be good. We had breakfast each morning in the Hotel restaurant, which has a good selection to choose from and is reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view its worth it just to view the action outside your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a conference. The hotel looks nice enough and the staff do a good job at making you feel welcome. Furthermore, the courtesy cars were much appreciated.
However, the carpets are getting pretty old, the lifts make a lot of noise and our room was opposite a lift, so that didn't make us very happy. Also, turning the airco off was far from straightforward and I can't even begin to describe how the taps in the bathrooms should be operated. The bar was overpriced.
Moreover, the hotel is pretty from everything, so you're dependent on cabs or the courtesy shuttles.
All in all, it's okay as far as hotels go, but not exceptional.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St James City
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed here with my women's rowing team for the Head of the Charles. We had a corner room with a view of the river including the starting line for the race. There were two other women in the room and our room was large enough to get a cot. I was the cot sleeper and was pleasantly surprised with the comfort of the cot.
Most notable during our stay was the pleasant and accommodating staff. They seemed sincerely interested in my having a great stay.
Breakfast buffet was included in our package and it was excellent. I especially liked the fresh fruit and steel cut oatmeal. There was also an omelet bar, a number of hot selections and some very good looking pastries.
This hotel is a bit of a walk to restaurants and shopping, but there is a free shuttle until 9 PM included which goes to Harvard Square and 2 or 3 other stops. I never had to wait more than 15 minutes for it.
I look forward to staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a riviera view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique T, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Cambridge! We are glad that you chose to stay with us for Head of the Charles. Our breakfast buffet features delicious hot items as well as omelets made to order and we are glad you took advantage of that. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston

Address: 575 Memorial Drive, Overlooking Boston, Cambridge, MA 02139-4896
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#13 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated Hyatt Regency Cambridge is situated along the scenic shores of the historic Charles River and nestled among some of the nations finest Universities and overlooks the panoramic skyline of Boston. The hotel's campus like setting, ultra modern guest rooms; along with unparalleled services and amenities creates the perfect experience whether traveling for business or leisure. The Hotel is minutes from all the excitement of Boston and Harvard Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.