We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Start - Got Better Though !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   575 Memorial Drive, Overlooking Boston, Cambridge, MA 02139-4896   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast for Two
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
St Albans
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Disappointing Start - Got Better Though !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Disappointing in so far as we had booked to stay at The Double Trees - but as has been previously recorded we were also moved to the Hyatt. All the Hilton Honors rewards were transferred as well - free wifi and cooked breakfasts and a lovely room on the 3rd flooor overlooking the Charles River. The breakfasts were excellent - very attentive staff -and the fresh fruit was the best I have ever had in a hotel - and had a drink in bar one evening - reasonably priced. They also provided a complimentary shuttle bus service to various parts of the city where we connected with the public transport system (which is very good $2.50 for each journey no matter how long). Would I stay here again ? Yes - cant wait to go back to Boston !

Room Tip: Any overlooking the river would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing M, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Hyatt Regency Cambridge. I’m happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our hotel and all of the amenities we offer. We can’t wait to welcome you back when you’re in the city again! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    407
    263
    118
    71
See reviews for
291
236
77
407
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

When we arrive a bell staff was right there to help you at the reservation test they did a great job that I've greatest wonderful room with a view of the Charles River. Size of the room is ample wonderful appointments granite countertops. Hotel has been renovated and a great job

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing M, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Cambridge! It’s always nice to hear that our associates helped make your stay more enjoyable and of course, we appreciate your positive comments about our room renovation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Boston area. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed with my wife and 2 year old child in a King bed room, whilst attending a conference on site. VERY GOOD: clean rooms, comfortable beds; all staff very helpful; breakfast great; shuttle service to local subway stations (MIT & Harvard). GOOD: serving sizes at dinner; layout of room with separate dressing table area that can be used to work without disturbing other room occupants (like a sleeping child); minimarket on site open to 10pm. AVERAGE: location convenient to MIT and BU but not really walking distance to anything else (20-30 minutes minimum); parking expensive. POOR: No double glazing on windows means any room on low floor facing the driveway is very noisy (due to taxi marshalling, function guests departing); rooms facing river get road noise but at least able to sleep; no mini fridge in room; vending machines not restocked often enough; wireless approx $15 per 24hours.

Next time, I probably would stay in a more convenient location with free wifi. For the casual visitor, this hotel needs to offer a few more extras to make its (walking) distance from anything (other than the two universities above) worthwhile.

Room Tip: Ask for room not facing driveway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a Regency, not a 'Grand', so it's not flagship hotel, but one of the better ones of the Regency line I stayed in. The staff is just great (all of them). The breakfast buffet offers a wide selection and is fairly priced. The interior might look a bit strange a first (very open construction, typical Boston-Brownstone) - but you get used to it. The rooms are nicer than the halls, almost 'Grand Hyatt' quality. The main difference was that there is mini bar (but there are vending machines and rather expensive mini-market in the building. Tip: drinks are just half the price in the vending machine). The bathroom had the usual amenity kit (I am not sure if a toothbrush was included - better ensure to bring you own). The river view rooms are worth the price (when you get up in the morning you already see the first canoe trainings, at night you get a million dollar view of the Boston skyline). There is always some at the front desk - you can also check out very early morning if you need to catch an early flight. They have shuttle that can take you to Kendall square (or any other location) - but the location could be better if you need to go to MIT frequently (as mentioned, the shuttle can take you to Kendall but on the way back you might be on your own, they can give you a number to call the shuttle - but a taxi is often better - alternatively, it's a nice walk). The gym is great too.

Room Tip: Book a river view room - the view is great, day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stay at this Hyatt frequently when visiting MIT, though it isn't the closest (about a mile to the middle of campus). The rates are generally lower than the closer hotels and the Hyatt has nice rooms, a very pleasant staff, and good views of the river, especially if you get a balcony room.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room for the best views if the weather is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

If you are into sports activities, then this hotel is perfect for you. It is located just next to Charles River. Along this river there are always lots of joggers. In 20 minutes walking distance is the boat house where you can rent sailing boats, windsurf boards and kanoos. I myself rented a kanoo and was paddling under five bridges along the shore.

The service personnel is very friendly and there is a shuttle buse which brings from you from the hotel to important places in Cambridge (e.g. Kendall Square)

Unfortunatly, you have to pay an exra charge of USD 9.80 per day, if you want to use wireless internet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We did not have a great room, but it was clean and fairly spacious. It was disappointing how many things involved an "extra" charge. No free wifi...ANYWHERE. After paying an exorbitant amount for the room I think free wifi is called for. The little shop in the lobby has some great food and coffee but it is expensive. The free shuttle to the local sights was awesome. All the drivers were friendly and helpful, especially, Ricky :-) He directed us to an awesome place to eat breakfast, The Friendly Toast. It does not open until 8am so we spent some time in the coffee shop nearby....great coffee, great food AND free wifi! So Beantowne and The Friendly Toast became our morning ritual. NOTE: Beantowne is NOT open on Saturdays or Sundays.

We had access to a fitness center and a pool. Locker rooms have both steam and saunas. The cleanliness of the pool, locker rooms and workout area were not very good.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view, otherwise skip it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston

Address: 575 Memorial Drive, Overlooking Boston, Cambridge, MA 02139-4896
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated and contemporary, Hyatt Regency Cambridge is a stylish hotel overlooking the Boston skyline. A proud recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award, our Boston hotel features contemporary rooms with breathtaking views of the scenic Charles River and downtown Boston. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit art museums, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just a complimentary shuttle ride away from Hyatt Regency Cambridge. Nestled between legendary colleges and universities such as Harvard, MIT, Boston University and Boston College and conveniently located just minutes from innovative companies and start-ups such as AT&T, Yahoo and Amazon, our Cambridge hotel is the ideal place to conduct business or academic pursuits in Boston. Enjoy seasonal New England cuisine at Zephyr on the Charles, offering sweeping views of Boston's Charles River. Sip a cocktail at the Zephyr Lounge and relax on our outdoor, seasonal patio on warm spring night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.