We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Marriott out of Boston Traffic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Marriott Cambridge

Save Saved
You added Boston Marriott Cambridge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boston Marriott Cambridge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Two Cambridge Center, 50 Broadway, (Broadway & 3rd Street), Cambridge, MA 02142   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersBronze level
.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Marriott out of Boston Traffic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This Marriott was a welcome break from the traffic and crowds over in Boston, yet we still felt we were a part of Boston when looking at the eye-popping views of the Charles River and Boston from our window. Although they did not have our room cleaned and ready for us due to some snafu when we got there, they were super at providing us instead with a wonderful full -view room at no extra charge. This hotel is a beautiful modern glass behemoth, 26 floors tall. Besides its escape from Boston crowds and traffic, it features the train right at their doorstep so you can easily hop on the train and get to the center of Boston, and come back anytime you choose. Despite my worry about the possible train noise, there was none that we could detect. Additionally, the hotel features a nice cafe called Champions, which offers friendly service and very good food. We loved this hotel, and could find absolutely no fault until the fire alarm sounded. This would have been okay with us, but it resulted in us being evacuated down 18 flights of stairs with no guidance or comfort. We feel those evacuating should be able to hear the PA system; we ended up going down the 18 floors with a senior who had difficulty walking, and had we heard the announcements, we would have known the evacuation had been called off when we were about half way down. Also, we feel that it would be wise for the hotel to provide an employee in the stairwell to help any person who might require assistance and reassurance. This event would not be mentioned because this is a wonderful hotel, but a week later we heard of someone else who had a similar experience as ours in this same hotel. Would we stay here again? Absolutely, but on a lower floor.....just in case.

Room Tip: If you are not comfortable with heights, ask for a room on a lower level, or without a view of the C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    257
    85
    22
    21
See reviews for
155
90
38
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I stayed in Marriot Cambridge for business and it was clean however some rooms I've been told it didn't have a safe ! It has some problems like room key might not work also room service stops by 10 pm staff are ok but I didn't see good customer service .... Anyway I would give it 5 out of 10

Room Tip: Make sure the room has a safe! And choose a room that is not next to elevator cause its noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I first stayed at this hotel 20 years ago and after all this time I am still impressed! The staff does a great job of keeping the hotel in top shape - looks as new and as impressive as ever. Visited the gym and pleasantly surprised by the facilities; once again found helpful and friendly staff who made sure tea, coffee and fruit were always on hand for post workout snack. Great location by the Kendall T stop and very convenient to MIT's campus.

I look forward to my next visit to Boston, and expect I will always return to this hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

When booking on booking.com we were quoted $410 per room per night. On checking out we were charged $700 per room, yes that's right, $700 per room for five rooms. The most expensive waste of $100 per hour that I have ever experienced!!! Especially when you consider that the better quality Marriot in Quincy only charged $149 per night for the following nights stay. Will never stay here again in the future.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Just in front of MIT. Very convenient to take a subway to downtown. Staffs are friendly and effective.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This is a large, modern, very well maintained Marriott at the edge of the MIT campus. It's worth getting on a floor high enough to enjoy the stunning views across the river to Boston on one side of the building or the less dramatic but very interesting views toward Harvard on the other side. Everything in our room was in perfect condition, and the service was unusually good in every part of the hotel. From the front desk to the restaurant to the housekeeper and the doorman, everyone went the extra mile to make us comfortable and to make us feel welcome. This is Marriott at its best.

The hotel is located in a small complex of offices and restaurants at the edge of the MIT campus, about half way between Harvard Square and downtown Boston. This can be an advantage, because everything (including jogging routes along the Charles River) is within easy reach. Using the MTA's red line, which has a stop right at the hotel, you can get anywhere in the city in just a few minutes. Also a plus: there is a nice buzz of activity in the area around the hotel during the day and the early evening, and there are some interesting bistros and coffee house/bakeries within walking distance. But the area shuts down fairly early, and by 9 or 10 the hotel feels a little like an island.

For us, this was no problem. We would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Just got back from spending three nights in Cambridge. Boston Marriott Cambridge is very convenient to the MIT campus and via the T to downtown Boston and other Boston area locations. Staff very friendly and helpful. Traveling by myself, room had comfortable queen size bed, usual amenities for the Marriott brand. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boston Marriott Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Cambridge

Address: Two Cambridge Center, 50 Broadway, (Broadway & 3rd Street), Cambridge, MA 02142
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#12 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Cambridge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a top choice among Cambridge hotels, the Boston Marriott Cambridge is situated across the Charles River from downtown Boston and is the perfect location for your next visit to the city. This Cambridge hotel is positioned in Kendall Square near popular Boston area attractions. Top universities such as MIT, Harvard, and Boston University are just minutes away, as well as Massachusetts General Hospital & the Children's Hospital. Guests of this hotel in Cambridge will enjoy the close proximity to Harvard Square, Fenway Park, TD Banknorth Garden, the North End and the Museum of Science. Enjoy casual American fare at our Cambridge, MA hotel’s new restaurant, Champions. The Boston Marriott Cambridge hotel is also an ideal event and meeting facility. With ten breakout rooms and 12,000 sq ft of event space, this hotel can accommodate groups of any size. With easy access to Logan Airport, I-93 and the subway, the Boston Marriott Cambridge is the ideal lodging choice for business trips and vacations in Boston, MA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Boston Marriott Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Marriott Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Marriott Cambridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.