We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ice cream, and not only” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toscanini's Ice Cream

Toscanini's Ice Cream
899 Main St, Cambridge, MA 02139-3512
617-491-5877
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 553 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Dessert, Fast Food, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dessert
Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best ice cream, and not only”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

No doubt, the best ice cream in Boston. Just the names of the amazing flavor is a celebration by itself. So there's a very loud and colorful party going on in your brain and it's so hard to make a decision. I saw large families or group of friends all standing by the counter, trying to taste everything (and the servers are really patient with that). I really liked the Khulfee flavor, but everything I tasted was amazing. Also an important tip, they make one of the best coffee in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    36
    14
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hoover, Alabama
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Best ice cream joint I've been to - anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We wanted ice cream after a nice Mexican dinner, and found this on Google Maps. What a treat! The place was packed on a cold night, yet the staff moved people along quickly. Specialty ice cream and great coffee makes for the perfect end to a casual night out. I had the Ginger Snap and Molasses ice cream, and everyone in my group started eating mine because it was so good. Unique in that it had a little bite, and the molasses adds sweetness without overdoing it. I should have ordered a douple scoop. I wish they could ship a gallon of it back to me in Florida. It was that good. Atmosphere is quaint college town coffee shop. Small shop but it has adequate seating. Worth the trip and a short wait to have this.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto ON
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had this after a good meal in Cambridge. The place was packed with people getting ice cream in mid August on a warm mid week evening.
Service was quick though and the servers were friendly, offering out samples of the unique ice cream flavours they offer.
We tried chocolate caramel, ovaltine, cookie dough and burnt caramel. All of the flavours were very good and you probably couldn't go wrong trying any of their flavours.
The place has a very hip vibe going on as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“While Toscanini was Italian, Ice Cream here is American”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Very good Ice Cream, for Gelato stick to your fond memories in Firenze or Roma. It is home made though so very fresh taste and always busy.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Satisfies your sweet tooth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Featured in July 2013 Boston Magazine's "Best Ice Cream," so of course I had to try it. The B3 is delicious. It has a unique flavor that I haven't had anywhere else. Good quality. Has some other unusual flavors like Earl Grey and something with bourbon, but those flavors might be rotating.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toscanini's Ice Cream also viewed

 
Cambridge, MA
Cambridge, MA
 

Been to Toscanini's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toscanini's Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.