We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LIKE BEING AT HOME IN CAMBRIDGE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harding House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Harding House to your Saves list
Harding House
288 Harvard Street, Cambridge, MA 02139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“LIKE BEING AT HOME IN CAMBRIDGE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

We stayed 2 nights while visiting New England area colleges for my son. The location is about a 5 to 7 min walk to Central "t" stop. About 15 min walk to Harvard Square. The front desk was so accomodating. Just ask for wine and cheese. Ask to borrow umbrellas. Water bottles for your use. Take a book home from their library. Leave one if you would like. Ask for any toiletries you left at home. They help you get to where you are going providing maps of the area and the in room guide outlined transportation options as well. The reception room has many copies of the NEW YORKER as well as other reading material. A computer is available there for your use. The dining area is well stocked. Terrific tea selection with honey, sugar and milk. The coffee was stronger, heeding the advice of other reviewers. The quiches and popovers, and pastries each morning were delicious. Biscotti, nutrigrain bars, cereals, nuts and fresh fruit as well as yogurt are part of the buffet. Toast, english muffins and bagels with an excellent selection of jams, peanut butter, Nutella and other spreads. Orange Juice, cranberry juice and water too. It was very filling and is available til 10am. The bedroom was sufficient for our family of 3. Our son slept on a trundle bed and a queen bed was comfortable for my husband and I. Not enough pillows, but just ask for more. The toiletries are Neutrogena rain bath and shampoo. Wireless thru out is free!! Great touch. I would recommend staying if you are roaming the Cambridge/Harvard area. We went into Boston one day and it was very easy using public transportation. Walked the freedom trail. Ate clam chowder at Legal Seafoods, bought tiramisu and boston creme pie from Mikes Pastry in the North End and ate at Mr. Bartleys burger cottages in Cambridge. All i recommend!!! USS constitution is closed on Mondays, FYI. The city is very walkable. Use the "T" when you need for $2 a ride. We bought $4.00 ticket and got us there and back. Go to Cheers, see the Ducks in boston public garden, go to quincy market and faneuil hall. Great time!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SapphireBoston, General Manager at Harding House, responded to this review, October 5, 2009
Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review of Harding House and our lovely cities of Boston and Cambridge. Our staff works hard to provide a homelike atmosphere, and it makes us all happy to know you enjoyed our hospitality. Your wonderful review of the sights and eats in our town is a great guide for other visitors. We hope you will return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    30
    5
    6
    0
See reviews for
27
19
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay here and the only complaint I would have is that the coffee wasn't strong enough. That's pretty minor! Staff was very helpful, room was clean and comfortable, and the location is very convenient and sights and metro are within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SapphireBoston, Manager at Harding House, responded to this review, August 26, 2009
We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and took advantage of our great central location and our helpful staff. We're so sorry to hear that you did not find the coffee strong enough. Our complimentary coffee service, available all day along with tea, cake and other snacks, is made to suit most tastes. But, we are always happy to accommodate special requests. We would have loved to make a special pot, strong and steaming hot just for you. Please request it on your next visit! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

Harding House provided an excellent home base during my recent four-night stay. The Harvard St. location was convenient to both the subway and our car rental, perfect for exploring greater Boston and beyond, while the Harvard Museums and wonderful Cambridge shopping and restaurants were within easy walking distance. Free parking was available throughout our stay-another plus! The rooms were cozy and well-equipped, and the breakfast each morning was scrumptious. And every person who manned the front-desk went out of their way to help us-and others. I wish prices were a bit less expensive, but you definitely get your money's worth!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

Lovely place to stay in Cambridge. So much nicer than a hotel. Great value with a good breakfast and friendly staff. Would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

I stayed here in December for a few days and enjoyed my stay. It was very quiet and charming. The breakfast was good although they did not serve a hot breakfast which was disappointing. The selection of muffins and such was great, however. The coffee was okay, not hot but they have a microwave nearby. The staff was very friendly although I did find that they were unfamiliar with the area. I was steered in the wrong direction a few times but I eventually found what I was looking for. Asking about the city of Boston got me nowhere but they have a computer to use so I could find what I needed. The rooms were very nice and clean. There was no conditioner for my hair and the shampoo was pretty inferior so bring your own products. As far as B&Bs go, this was a nice one and I could suggest only minor improvements to make it better. I also stayed in Brookline at the Beech Tree B&B---now that was a treat! The location of Harding House is a bit better (close to Harvard square) but Beech Tree is another great one.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SapphireBoston, Manager at Harding House, responded to this review, February 10, 2009
Thanks for the positive review. We noticed that we ranked high among your other TripAdvisor reviews. Impressing discerning travelers like you earned us the 2008 International Hotel & Restaurant Association “Endless Amenities Award” for our hot breakfasts, high-quality amenities and outstanding service. Our prices are similar to all of the other hotels and B&Bs in the area, but Cambridge can be expensive. We feel that value is very important, and we would have been more than happy to help you take better advantage of our amenities.

Every day there’s a different home-cooked entrée on our breakfast buffet; things like egg & cheese popovers, cherry stuffed French toast, vegetable quiche, and waffles with fresh berries. Our offerings are extensive, high quality and all you can eat, which is rare in the B&B world. There are so many options that sometimes people don’t notice them all. A sign right next to our 24 hour coffee urn says we’ll also make a fresh pot, piping hot in minutes at your request. As a green hotel, we’ve replaced mini-travel amenities with full-sized dispensers of Neutrogena shampoo, lotion and shower gel. Not only does this reduce plastic packaging, it gives guests the luxury of using as much as they need. A sign in the bathroom notes that conditioner, bar soap, etc. are available on request. All you have to do is ask. Many people really like Neutrogena shampoo. We’re truly sorry it didn’t suit your tastes.

Several of our staff members have expertise in area tourism. One worked for several years at Boston’s Historical Society, another writes our Cambridge Blog and events calendar, which features local restaurants, sights, entertainment and shopping. All of our staff are trained to give basic directions, but Boston can be a very tricky town to navigate even for natives. As the manager, I am here to answer questions for those who need special assistance. You mentioned the Beech Tree Inn, which seems to be another delightful place, rated the #1 B&B in Boston just as Harding House is #1 in the Cambridge, Harvard, & MIT area. Looks like you chose the best two spots in town. We hope you'll be back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

I travelled a long way from Buenos Aires, Argentina. It was a very cold night when I arrived, and to my surprised the apartment was shiny, a great coffee selection was waiting for me and the entire place smelled like home.
Special thanks to the house manager, Lauren and the rest of the staff. Charming people, really.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SapphireBoston, manager at Harding House, responded to this review, February 6, 2009
Dear Floroca,
Thank you for leaving such a nice review of Harding House. We are so glad that our new long-term stay apartment provided you with all the comforts of home. It was truly a delight to have you spend the month with us. Many of our staff members have read your review and remember how much they enjoyed having you here. The positive comments you left will help other travelers find us and feel confident that they are choosing a wonderful place to stay. We hope your travel plans will bring you back to our house again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

We were travelling around Canada and arrived in Boston early, and were so lucky to get a room for 4 people at Harding House at the last minute.

The moment we entered the doors, it felt like home, only that there was a cheerful receptionist who made us feel welcome immediately. We found the living area well stocked with reading material and a computer with free internet connection. Next door in the dining area were fruits and snacks, as well as tea and coffee. The same lady offered us wine and cheese before dinner and we took up that offer, and found that it also came with more fruits!

The rooms itself were comfortable and clean only that the climb up the main stairs might not be for everyone (our room was on the top floor) as it's a little steep. No fear though, there are another set of stairs at the back that are easier to climb.

The location was good, being a block away from the subway.

The staff made all the difference in making our holiday such a relaxing and enjoyable stay by being so nice and helpful, with an ever ready smile and willingness to help us.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harding House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harding House

Address: 288 Harvard Street, Cambridge, MA 02139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
National Geographic Traveler magazine calls Harding House "A charming, spacious and bright place in a great neighborhood, filled with nice people." Located minutes from Harvard and MIT Universities and downtown Boston, we offer classic comfort, a hearty breakfast, and unparalleled service, all in an atmosphere that feels like home. Enjoy complimentary wireless, parking, museum passes, and wine & cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Harding House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harding House Hotel Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harding House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.