We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Tria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Tria to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Tria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Alewife Brook Pkwy, Cambridge, MA 02138   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Cambridge
Rensselaer, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

this is a great location for visiting Lesley University in Cambridge. There is a shuttle bus to the college. Also, there is a great restaurant in walking distance (Summer shack) . We have stayed here twice and will come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    167
    84
    23
    18
See reviews for
179
89
35
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This was a return visit for us and it was once again a winner. Room was comfortable and clean, reasonably priced (via Hotwire), and perfect for our overnight visit to Tufts. We had no parking surcharge.The breakfast was fine. I don't know if we had a renovated room but it was fine for our purposes. But what set this visit apart was the customer care. My husband thought he had left something in the room and a staff member cheerfully went up to the room twice to look for the item. Above and beyond the call of duty, i say. Well done!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This was an easy option for a short stay in Cambridge (in fact, I am pretty sure that visiting prospective students are the main guests in this stay). I stayed here for a night with a friend when we were visiting in Boston. The property was clean, our room was very large, and the beds were very comfortable. The shower did not have a curtain (it is the kind where the floor in the shower is not separated from the rest of the bathroom), which is not my favorite feature. We did not try breakfast there. Overall, however, convenient Cambridge location that is clean and good for a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The Best Western Plus Hotel Tria is a great value in among pricey alternatives in Cambridge. The hotel is nice and it is clean although only half of the hotel has been renovated. The rooms on the renovated section of the hotel are modern with comfortable furnishing and roomy bathroom. The beds are very comfortable and the updated satellite TV service is a welcome change from the limited menu of channels found in my hotels. Breakfast is one of the best I have found - with hot choices (eggs, sausage, potatoes), waffles, and a wide selection of other breakfast foods. The fitness center is disappointingly outdated - including 2 treadmills, an elliptical, a recumbent bike, and a strength training station - the room is crowded (with the equipment not with people), the equipment is more home than industrial quality, and the area is not well maintained). The staff are generally very efficient and helpful - especially true for Danica, Julia, and Jason. The location is especially convenient if you are visiting the western area of Cambridge.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the renovated portion of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Best Western PLUS Hotel Tria is my favorite hotel on my each visit to Harvard university. It is clean, convenient, and best of all, is the friendly staff services. Breakfast is a plus. the shuttle bus to Harvard square and subway station made each stay easy. highly recommeded!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stayed here during a visit to see my daughter who attends Tufts, there is a free shuttle which transports you to Tufts and to the nearby T and immediate areas such as Harvard Square etc with advance registration. Check in was quick and efficient. We arrived late so we took advantage of the late night grill which was very good. Starbucks is attached but separate from the hotel After leaving the first floor, you become aware of how dated the hotel really is, cracked and peeling paint. But it was minor compared to the experience and the customer service overall. The morning breakfast was great, but served the same things everyday and very limited space. Have to eat early to avoid the crowds. Overall, I intend to stay here again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario,CANADA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Let us be clear: this is not a resort or 5 star hotel and does not pretend to. But it is run smartly and provides an overnight stay in a clean, safe ,convenient and efficient manner. Yes it does accept third party reservations, in this case through accumulated points on an arline. Yes it accepts dogs , in this case a 14-year old poodle, and makes no fuss about it ($20 surcharge) . I do object to a parking surcharge which comes as a compete and dishonest surprise ($12 surcharge). But the good service, good breakfast, good proximity to a dog-loving space next door , called the Kingsley citypark, outweigh inconveniences. So, the 4.5 rating is solid, but I'm not sure that the heavy Trip Advisor rarings shown in halls and the Trip Advisor image book in the room are such a good idea because that sets a high standard for the establishment and Trip Advisor's independence may suffer if bad ratings bring down this hotel site and its silent partner, Trip Advisor.

Room Tip: Front is more attractive
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Tria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Tria

Address: 220 Alewife Brook Pkwy, Cambridge, MA 02138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Tria 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the premier Best Western's in New England is also Boston's best value offering 121 brand new or newly renovated guest rooms with mini fridge, flat screen TVs, wired and wireless Internet access, luxurious linens and individual digital climate control units in each room. Guests enjoy a complimentary hot buffet breakfast daily in the expanded breakfast area as well as the brand new Hotel Tria Lobby Bar & Panini Kitchen featuring many signature items. Redesigned fitness facilities, activity room, meeting space and affordable parking all available on site. Improved front desk and lobby complete the Hotel Tria's fresh new look. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Tria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tria
Best Western Cambridge
Cambridge Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Tria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.