We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality/price ratio” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Tria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Tria to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Tria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Alewife Brook Pkwy, Cambridge, MA 02138   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Cambridge
North Conway, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good quality/price ratio”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel is fairly well situated, a 5mn drive to Harvard square. We took the free shuttle once and it was ready at the time we asked for it. We had a room with 2 double beds and asked to be in one of the renovated rooms but were told only the queen rooms were renovated...?. The front desk staff seems disinterested, just as minimum talk as possible. Also when booking the room over the phone I had asked to be sent an email confirmation, which I did not receive. I called a couple of days later with the same request but never got the email (I checked the spam folder just in case). The room was fine except for the bathtub, somewhat black at the bottom. Breakfast consisted of eggs, sausages, home fries, waffle maker, bagels, bread, muffins (the toaster toasted only half the bread), cereals and juice. But for $120 including parking, it was ok. We would only go back if we could get one of the renovated rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    167
    84
    23
    18
See reviews for
179
89
35
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greencastle, Pennsylvania, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I am a regular at this hotel having spent at least 100 nights here over the last couple years. I choose this hotel because of its western Cambridge location; getting around Cambridge can be very time consuming and staying in an east side hotel and commuting to the west side is not a good choice. The Best Western PLUS Tria is a nice if older property. The rooms (at least the ones I have stayed in are standard king rooms with slightly older furniture but comfortable beds. The rooms all have Free WiFi that is adequate but not fast. The hotel recently updated to satellite TV which has added a welcome addition to channel accessibility. I am generally disappointed with their fitness center which has three home quality cardio machines, and multipurpose strength training and a recent addition of a adjustable barbell system and bench. Their lounge is small with a few limited food choices. However, the breakfast here is very good with lots of choices to include make-your-own waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage and potatoes. Staff if friendly and does remember you when you return. Prices here are reasonable in the Fall, Winter and very early spring; however, once you reach college commencement season that skyrocket and I find some place else to stay for the summer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Overall, this is a very good hotel, especially the staff, the location and the breakfast. Staff were friendly and efficient, the location is excellent near the Alewife T station and there is a Whole Foods next door, although it is a bit of a walk to any decent restaurant. What I did not like was the smell of the room and its mustiness. The furniture seems old and needs updating, and it is like the room was sprayed with a perfume that was very annoying, and it still did not cover up a musty smell. Otherwise the room was fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hotel is on a busy round a bout, so it can be hard to get to at times. The outside looks a little scary, but once you get in, it's nice. It is updated and clean. There is a bar in the lobby and a Starbucks attached to the side. The room was nice, clean, and had updated decor. I would give this hotel a better rating, but the beds were horribly uncomfortable. Both my husband and I tossed and turned all night and woke up with sore backs and stiff necks. The breakfast was good. They had eggs, sausage, seasoned potatoes, a variety of breads and muffins, juice, fruit, yogurt, cereals, a waffle maker and there is a 24 hr coffee and tea station. They also have a free shuttle to the T station down the road or to Harvard Square. It's in the middle of a lot of stores and restaurants within walking distance too. We stayed here to spend the weekend in Boston and Salem for our 10th Anniversary. If you are going to Boston, I highly recommend doing a trolley tour. BTW, be prepared to pay a $25 hold and $12 a day to park at the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

As advised by other reviewers, we asked for a renovated room..The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. We rarely sleep well in hotel rooms but my husband and I both got good nights' sleep. The staff were very pleasant and accommodating. Breakfast was handled nicely. Very adequate for our purposes and close to Tufts University, our destination. Although we did not use nearby services, there's a Trader Joes, a Whole Foods, and a movie theater all close by, which would be useful since there's no room service.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

If you are a runner, Fresh Pond -- a top running destination -- is nearby. If you've got a dog, the hotel is very welcoming. If you're concerned about the out-of-the-way location, the subway is 1/2 a mile away. Best Western Plus hotels are somewhat nicer than ordinary Best Westerns. So your accommodations will be more than adequate. And there are 2 Dunkin Donuts within easy walking distance -- what more could you ask for in the way of Boston area cultural attractions? The trade-off is central location vs. price. If price matters, you should be happy here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Tria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Tria

Address: 220 Alewife Brook Pkwy, Cambridge, MA 02138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Tria 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the premier Best Western's in New England is also Boston's best value offering 121 brand new or newly renovated guest rooms with mini fridge, flat screen TVs, wired and wireless Internet access, luxurious linens and individual digital climate control units in each room. Guests enjoy a complimentary hot buffet breakfast daily in the expanded breakfast area as well as the brand new Hotel Tria Lobby Bar & Panini Kitchen featuring many signature items. Redesigned fitness facilities, activity room, meeting space and affordable parking all available on site. Improved front desk and lobby complete the Hotel Tria's fresh new look. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Tria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tria
Best Western Cambridge
Cambridge Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Tria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.