We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, beautifully presented; flavors, textures, structure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of T. W. Food

T. W. Food
377 A Walden St., Cambridge, MA 02138
617-864-4745
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
T. W. Food is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 553 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Concord Ave
Urbana, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, beautifully presented; flavors, textures, structure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had one of the best meals we'd ever had at T.W. Food. We went early and it was very quiet and a beautiful room. It's a small place with brick walls, so as it filled up over the evening (and one large celebrating group was pretty happy), it got louder. The food was exquisite: the mix of flavors, things cooked to perfection, low-key efficient and attentive (but not intrusive or obsequious) service. All around, a truly spectacular dinner on a night that we were tired and cranky--it sure turned around our evening. What a pleasure. We had the three-course menu and it was a great value: the fois gras creme brûlée was exceptional, the lobster bisque and the duck were fantastic, and the mix of appetizers was interesting, well-presented and truly lovely. The desert course was the least of the meal, and two of our three deserts were fantastic. A great, great evening and wonderful value.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    13
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

It is deceiving when you look at the place from the outside. Although the place is quite simple, the lighting and atmosphere are really nice for an intimate meal. The food was awesome! We went for the Chef's improv and surprise menu and all dishes were spectacular. The price is very reasonable considering all the courses provided and the quality of the food.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant, especially Tue. nites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Tue. nites there is a 4-course fixed menu with 4 wines for $55. You can't beat it! Each week the menu is based on food and wine from a particular European region. Last Tue. it was Northern Italy. First course was a 2-part: crispy striped bass and shrimp fra diavolo -- excellent. (You could have had a salad instead.) 2nd course: fresh tagliatelle w/ wild mushrooms -- delicious. (or brisket). 3rd course: cheese plate. Dessert: a d'acquoise with fresh peach and raspberries. The wines were wonderful.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Should have been better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Based on six of us experiencing their 7-course tasting menu, I reluctantly give T. W. Food 4 / 5. In large part, I do so because I don't want to put it below an East Side Friday's Grill that gets a 4 / 5 because it is in a different league that anything big box. But for a restaurant that is in the discussion online as perhaps one of Boston area's top ten, and as a place that sits you for a $100 /person meal (before drinks), it's reasonable to actually expect something excellent... maybe even exception: T. W. Food wasn't. It was only one experience, but it was average for a very fine dining experience. Nothing was wrong, but you don't book a week or more ahead and drop $$$ for nothing wrong - you want a great meal - and 5 of the 7 courses just weren't anything special. The best was the first, the soup course, and the rest just weren't great. Too bad.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Big Letdown”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I was expecting so much more. Came here with my son (who is a really foodie from Manhattan) and my husband expecting a true dining experience..similar to what we have had in some of the chef owned restaurants in New Orleans. This did not even come close.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T. W. Food also viewed

Cambridge, MA
Cambridge, MA
 

Been to T. W. Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage T. W. Food, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.