We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice. For Central Sq, very nice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous in Central Square - CLOSED

Rendezvous in Central Square
502 Massachusetts Ave, Cambridge, MA 02139-4029
617-576-1900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: We are located steps from the Central Square T and bus stops.
LexGSR
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Nice. For Central Sq, very nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We chose this for a "date night" meal. In general, it was a good experience... the food was good, the service was good, the ambiance was good. It was not spectacular... there are perhaps better places to go for those of us already in a car... but if you're in/around Central Square, it is an excellent choice.

Food: The chowder had a bit too much black pepper, overwhelming a lot of the other flavors. The unorthodox lasagna was very tasty, albeit a little oily.
Service: Big points to the hostess who noticed I was toying with my glass because a crumb had fallen in... and offered a replacement drink.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    26
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
“Good food, nice service, bad decor ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Dined here in early October, 2013. The service was very nice. The food was delicious and well prepared and the menu was inventive... though I'm not really sure I saw "Morocco" in it. We had great fresh oysters, a beautifully prepared chicken, good blue fish and wonderful deserts. My only complaint/qualification is that the atmosphere is just blah. It is a strange sort of mish/mash fern bar (I'm told it was once a Burger King). No coherence, no charm and a bit on the loud side. Considering how good the food is, the atmosphere/decor seems so mismatched and charmless. But you can live with bad decor so long as the food is good... and the food and service was very good. Recommend a reservation... at least on weekends.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Sophisticated and inventive food in a neighborhood restaurant with a hip vibe. We dined here last night with an out-of-town friend who was hankering for seafood. And, boy, were we pleased. Try the seared scallop appetizer for tender, sweet, and perfectly cooked lovelies that are accented with a fresh herb pesto and fried capers. Then go for the swordfish with the smoked paprika sauce and leeks. Again, absolutely fresh and perfectly prepared. The wine list is deep and the restaurant is a tad noisy but we'll be back soon!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Worth Trying Again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

First time visit on a Sunday so the Prix Fixe menu applied. Nice atmosphere , can carry on a conversation without shouting even though it is an open restaurant design. Great variety on the menu and overall, well prepared and presented. Two ordered the braised pork and veal meatball selection; the server did a fabulous job explaining how it was prepared so we both were excited when the dish arrived. Alas, though flavorful the dish was over salted. The pasta finished in a stir fry to provide some "crispiness" to the pasta really didn't add to the dish. I would have preferred less salt and regular pasta. Another diner ordered the Moroccan chicken and thought it was very well prepared and seasoned. (She had specifically asked for no salt!) The salad offerings were outstanding; the Boston leaf salad with apple, cheddar, and spiced pecans was exceptional. The chocolate cake dessert was more brownie than cake but was appropriately sized and garnished with just the right amount of chocolate sauce and cinnamon spiced whipped cream. The sorbet and vanilla ice cream desserts were rated excellent. Will visit on a regular night and next time will be certain to ask that the chef "hold the salt" on our meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Hit on all cylinders”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Very happy with our experience. We ordered 8 plates and 3 cocktails between us. Menu was varied, food was attractively plated and delicious. Large appetizers meant it was possible to do perfectly well with 2 appetizers instead of app + entree. Bread freshly made and scrumptious. Made their own ginger beer for the Mamie Taylor cocktail. Service prompt and cheerful. Would return in a heartbeat.for a casual night out with friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rendezvous in Central Square also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous in Central Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.