We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous in Central Square - CLOSED

Rendezvous in Central Square
502 Massachusetts Ave, Cambridge, MA 02139-4029
617-576-1900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: We are located steps from the Central Square T and bus stops.
New England
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Very Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We had a fabulous experience at Rendezvous! The vibe is that of a comfortable yet high end establishment that has a neighborhood feel, yet is also an effortless haven for foodies - if that sounds like a paradox, not so in Central Square under the deft hand of Steve Johnson - who, as an aside, welcomed us warmly as we entered his establishment, a very nice touch.

We were a party of five so we were able to try a great many of the dishes on the menu. From what we tried, here are some of the dishes that were especially notable: the oysters with a mignonette - very fresh, perfectly prepared; the mushroom pizza - very tasty, earthy in the best way; the squid - perfectly cooked squid, the accompanying salad with the beans was especially bright; the bluefish cakes were super fresh, tasty, mainly fish, not many fillers; sea scallops - perfectly cooked, loved the accompanying squash and celery root salad; gnocchi - light, flavorful, tender; duck three ways - especially way #3, the confit; skirt steak - perfectly cooked, tender, well seasoned; roast chicken - tender, tasty, loved the vegetable accompaniment, very wintry and satisfying. The swordfish was good but it wasn't great - the fish itself was fresh, not over-cooked at all, but the seasoning was bland - could have used more punch, more depth.

We tried two of the desserts and found them to be not too rich yet extremely satisfying. We tried the bosc pear crostada and the warm chocolate cake - we recommend them both highly.

The service was terrific - efficient, adept, friendly - our server and his team was watchful and caring. Also, I'd like to comment on the valet who really helped us out with our car, he went beyond what a valet normally does, long story, but a very nice guy. Super evening!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    26
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, very nice ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Rendezvous is in Central Square, Cambridge, and has excellent food and friendly service. We're lucky enough to be able to walk there, but there's parking nearby and the restaurant is close to the Central Square subway stop. Originally the building was a Burger King, but except for the glass atrium windows, there's no sign of fast food. The setting is lovely and there's a pleasant buzz of people enjoying themselves.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Worth the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

When taking a recent course at Harvard, walked to Rendezvous for a wonderful dinner. Found this recommendation while on TripAdvisor before takeoff in Cincinnati. Also made dinner reservation on line, which was quite helpful and necessary!
Service was excellent, and when an order with starters was delayed, service recovery was excellent with an assortment of wonderful samples brought to the table gratis. Dinner choices and wine were unique and very tasty. Desert was worth the calories. This is a highly recommended establishment, and I would certainly go back!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

They really do it right here. I liked it so much, I celebrated a big birthday here with a group of ten friends. They are equally good for small, intimate dinners as they are for larger parties. The food is extraordinary. Every time. I love the atmosphere, and the neighborhood. Very reliably high quality. Quite delicious.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Place of Infinite Tastes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We took 2 friends from overseas who travel extensively and love food, plus 2 family members of the same ilk. I think we had 11 different plates (chicken, meatballs. scallops) and all were masterfully done. Head chef/owner S. Johnson uses spices and herbes so well and all of us commented on what wonderful taste treats we had. Service very good. It's like a neighborhood restaurant with a downtown Boston/Paris menu. Our visitors raved about it for 2 days.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rendezvous in Central Square also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous in Central Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.