We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MIT Museum

MIT Museum
265 Massachusetts Ave, MIT Bldg N52, Cambridge, MA 02139
617 253 4444
Website
Improve this listing
Visit MIT Museum like an insider
$54*
and up
Ranked #13 of 86 things to do in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun and interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I'll admit we only made time for this museum because it was the free weekend with a certain credit card. I'm glad we stopped by; we didn't read all the placards, so probably less educational and faster to breeze through for us. Nevertheless, the holograms were amazing and the kinetic sculptures were fun. Didn't spend as much time with the robots but the simple objects exhibit was neat and there was an arcade game on the main floor.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    96
    39
    15
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Informative and fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

If you're at all interested in science, the MIT museum is worth a visit. The exhibits are fascinating and informative - loved the holograms and kinetic sculptures. Spent a couple of hours here, and really pleased we went.

If you have a plastic Charlie Card you can get 2 for 1 on adult admission - the entry desk alerted us to this, saving us $10 and making the visit a real bargain.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Had to buy a Sweatshirt for my daughter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

It was a nice place to visit, good things to buy as souvenirs and pleasant and knowledgeable staff - there is also a great Cafe opposite called Flour Bakery

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Fun side excursion. The upstairs of the museum is the gem and a must see if in Boston. Very hands-on, informative, and educational.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A number of great exhibits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Particularly appreciated the robotics and holograms! Must see those! Have a look at the movies with robots in action! Also the new design section is great!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MIT Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MIT Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.