We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Onion Rings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. Bartley's Gourmet Burgers

Mr. Bartley's Gourmet Burgers
1246 Massachusetts Ave, Cambridge, MA 02138
(617) 354-6559
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 554 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Onion Rings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The menu is fun, lots of very unique burger choices and names. Amazing onion rings, and the coleslaw was great. Also....PUT THE SWEET RELISH ON EVERYTHING...if you value your tastebuds. Trust me, you will thank this review later (as we did the gentleman sitting beside us who gave us this advice).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    192
    64
    40
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Eat outside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Opted to have a chicken club on white toast. Very fresh with a very nice sized portion of chicken. Very busy, but service was right on. Employees with tats, orange hair, no hair ext. Very loud indoors because of the tiny size of the place. Very family friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheelersburg, Ohio
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We made a stop at Mr. Bartley's and were not disappointed. We had a brief wait in line and were impressed by the different types of burgers on the menu. Our service was great, as the place was packed. We really enjoyed eating what we had ordered, and thought the burgers were one of the best! If around the Harvard area, it's a neat place to stop by and enjoy a burger.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Highs and lows”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Expected the line but the wait was not very long. Orders taken in the line already, by Mr. Bartley himself. We thought the service was great, and very accommodating for our toddler. "Western" thick shake nice. The burger selection was very impressive, with different types of meat and all sorts of fillings and condiments. Great. However, ultimately, ended up somewhat disappointed by our burger experience. Partly as a result of all the hype. Maybe also because we expected a different style of burger. Chicken burger with avocado sort of bland. Beefburger patty was getting close to burnt on the outside, and tasted like cooking plate may benefit from a good clean. Felt like fast food dressed up in fancy clothes. Which is fine if that's what you're expecting and looking for.

Finally, eating outside, we did not benefit from the inside decor. Instead, we were treated to urine smell that crept up on us. If outside seating, need to make sure can enjoy experience, not just to seat more people. Should really get rid of some stars for that...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“FIRST TIME and loved it!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The place was packed and fast pace. Definitely a tight squeeze. But the burgers were delicious. Everything came out fast. The service was excellent. I always appreciate an establishment that will go out of their way to make my 15 mos old baby comfortable and happy. NO COMPLAINTS! One thing to point out was that it was cash only and I didn't notice a restroom. But that would be nit-picking. We loved it here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Bartley's Gourmet Burgers also viewed

 

Been to Mr. Bartley's Gourmet Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. Bartley's Gourmet Burgers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.