We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Miracle of Science Bar + Grill

Miracle of Science Bar + Grill
321 Mass Ave., Cambridge, MA 02139
617-868-2866
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #168 of 554 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
Good for: Bar scene
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
San Francisco, CA area
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

There are things about this place that I liked -- the atmosphere is fun, aside from being horribly loud, for instance -- but the food left a lot to be desired. A strange menu -- burgers and meat on skewers, along with some salads and things like quesadillas -- and a limited beer selection. Crowded, and as a diner I got the distinct feeling that what they prioritize is the bar. The waitresses were nice, and attentive, but the number of people standing kept growing throughout our meal until we had people looming over our table yelling at each other over the noise. It made it entirely unpleasant to be there trying to have a meal, so we hurried through and left as quickly as we could.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    28
    19
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“good casual place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Not a huge menu (only available on the wall), but a solid beer selection and a damn good burger. Instead of fries they serve these awesome roasted potatoes.
The place ain't fancy, but if you want a burger and a beer, this is a solid choice.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Delicious Hummus!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I went to this restaurant for lunch with colleagues while in Cambridge on business.

The place is a bit on the small side, so it ma not be the best for large groups. I was in a group of 5 and luckil there was a group leaving as we arrived so we were able to take their table right away.

The hummus was delicious!!! Get it!

I had the veggie burger which was great--not boring like at other places. Instead of fries, they served chunks of potatoes which were seasoned nicely.

i enjoyed this place and will go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place for 'aperitif' drinks and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great place for a drink and much before heading for more serious dinner. Good atmosphere too and great location. Had the cheese quesadilla and the salsa was yummy, not too hot but with a bit of a kick!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fine for burgers & beer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My younger son loves the fact that the menu is written out as the periodic table, but as others have commented, the theme is not carried beyond the chalkboard. It is still a very cute idea, and the place has a nice college town atmosphere.

Burgers & beers were great but the skewered options weren't as consistent. Not bad, but simple. Prices are low and service is quick & friendly, so not really a complaint. Mixed drinks were not good, so do stick with beer.

They did not have A/C running when we ate there on an excessively hot & humid night, so be forewarned if you like A/C.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miracle of Science Bar + Grill also viewed

 

Been to Miracle of Science Bar + Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miracle of Science Bar + Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.