We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Szechuan food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mary Chung

Mary Chung
464 Mass Ave., Cambridge, MA 02139
617-864-1991
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #187 of 553 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Szechuan food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Mary's is our favorite Szechuan restaurant. Everything is great, but we particularly love the Suan La Chow Show and the Hot Stuffed Eggplant. We usually go for dinner, but have greatly enjoyed the Dim Sum for Sunday brunch, also. Service is pleasant and good. Mary Chung, who worked for Joyce Chen originally, is usually at the front of the restaurant overseeing everything. We've had large family meals, business dinner/meetings and special dinners with friends here and always loved it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    10
    9
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conyers, Georgia
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The Best Chinese Food Anywhere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I have been going to Mary Chung for 15 years now at this location. The food is tasty, there is a good amount of it and the prices are very reasonable, if not inexpensive, for a number of the items. Even more so when you take into consideration you are in the middle of central square. On this visit my mother in law had Crab Rangoon, which are the best, pan fried ravioli with Mary's sweet yet spicy dipping sauce that would make a piece of card board taste good. We also got the Yu Shang Eggplanp and chicken combo, which is one of my favorites as well as the Dry cooked sliced beef. Both are spicy dishes, but oh...they hurt so good. We got an order for port fried rice which always taste light yet flavorful. The soups are wonderful too, though didn't have any on this visit. They don't take credit cards...cash only, and are closed on Tuesdays. If you haven't been you are doing yourself an injustice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“a most uncomfortable ordeal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

It was very interesting reading the other reviews of this restaurant after my wife and I
had eaten there Monday of last week. Unfortunately, our meal experience was anything
but pleasant. We had a very pushy older server, who repeatedlly treated us as though
we knew nothing about the cuisine. The person continually felt obliged to comment
on what we were eating in a most intrusive and annoying manner. The food itself was
pricey, bc we came a bit too late for the lunch menu, and not that well prepared. My
Kung Pau beef was a huge pile of steaming meat without any vegetables whatsoever,
covered with a handful of raw peanuts. My wife ordered Moo Shu Pork, and the server
told her she should order beef. But who asked for the server's opinion?!! At the end
of the meal, the server returned and literally commanded us to eat our fortune cookies. The
person was so over the top that initially it was all rather amusing. Nonetheless, the
server made what might have been a so-so dining experience into a real bummer :(

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“When in Central Square, Mary is a great option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Feel like Chinese food in Central Square; Mary's is it ...

Remember: CASH ONLY and closed on Tuesday.

Food is very inexpensive. You have good vegetarian options if you so desire.

Here's what I've ordered and liked...

Appetizers:
Vegetarian Spring Rolls
Fried Eggplant


Schezuan Spicy chicken
Sweet Orange chicken
Mongolian Chicken
Baby bok choy
Tofu in curry sauce
Spicy chengdu tofu
Ma po tofu (without pork, you can ask for that and they'll do it)
Singapore Noodles
Chow Fun noodles

Hot tea is unlimited.

Service is very prompt, cheerful and very functional. You may have to point to items on the menu (unless you can speak chinese).

Mary Chung is a wonderful experience all around.

I hear they do a nice Dimsum brunch; never been.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Wareham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food, very relaxing atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Went over the weekend so that we could order Dim Sum. Bill ran $45 for four people. How can you beat that? We had seven small dishes which all were excellent. Service was super. Timing of plates was great. Definitely go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mary Chung also viewed

 
Cambridge, MA
Cambridge, MA
 

Been to Mary Chung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary Chung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.