We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ice cream, Sundaes, Smoothies, etc.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J.P. Licks

J.P. Licks
Harvard Square, 1312 Massachusetts Ave, Cambridge, MA 02138
+1 617-492-1001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 548 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert, Ice Cream, Café
Dining options: Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dessert
Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Ice cream, Sundaes, Smoothies, etc.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This place is great!! They have the usual flavors of ice cream favorites and they also have monthly special flavors. The ice cream is delicious and they also roast their own coffee. It's always a delicious treat to go there. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
511 reviews 511 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
“Awesome Ice Cream Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

A truly epic ice cream shop - great location near the Harvard Yard, the bookstore and Mr. Bartley's. Parking is tough in Cambridge but try to get a metered spot outside, take a walk in the Yard, eat a burger at Mr. Bartley's, browse through one of the best bookstores in the world and top it off with some ice cream at JP Lick's.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Vegan Friendly Dessert!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

When visiting Boston I heard that JP Licks had a good selection of vegan ice-cream - I ended up visiting twice. The first time I had Peanut Butter hemp which was okay but I don't think I'm a huge fan of hemp based ice creams but the 2nd time I visited I had a dairy-free coconut almond ice cream - I'm guessing this was coconut based and it had chunks of almond in and wow, it was delicious - why don't we have stuff like this in the UK?

The rest of my family seemed pretty happy with their selections - the portions are massive and they had a good menu of the standard ice cream flavours along with their ever changing slightly more whacky flavours of the month! Its open late too so you can come here after dinner if you fancy a change in scenery before dessert!

Only thing is could do with more tables both inside and out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Best Best Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Wow... I don't do sweets much... But this was the BEST Ice Cream ever... Coffee Oreo Kicked some serious ICE.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great ice cream...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

One of the only ice cream parlors I have seen that serves Lactose-free ice cream! The madagascar vanilla bean lactose free ice cream is amazing! My boyfriend had the mint chip and it was excellent. Serving size was also well proportioned. Only downside is it can get very crowded very fast.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J.P. Licks also viewed

 
Cambridge, MA
 

Been to J.P. Licks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J.P. Licks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.