We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, spotty service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giulia

Giulia
1682 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138
(617) 441-2800
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Giulia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 538 restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Harvard Square and Porter Square T stops
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food, spotty service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

But I prefer to have good food over good service and lousy food. Our drinks were forgotten, we had to ask for bread twice, the food came out at different times but it was good farm to table Italian. Hopefully the server we had returned to the theatre and resumed her acting career.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    30
    18
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Loved this place go here often but need to avoid the bar tender! Terri is horrible w a bad attitude and not friendly. Won't sit at the bar again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Aside from the hassle of driving to the restaurant from the west, the rest of the experience was wonderful. The menu, although not too extensive, had many interesting choices. We had a prosciutto appetizer and a raw tuna appetizer -- both beautiful to look at and delicious. For our mains, we had the wild boar pasta and a clam and tomato pasta dish- again both excellent. The seasonings for each plate were perfect and the array of tastes wonderful. Our waitress was very knowledgeable. We had one of the less expensive red wines, a Nero d'Avola and it was very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Note to management.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I am writing this review to make a point to management on our bar tender Terri. I live in neighborhood so been to giulia 5 times already. I end up sitting at the bar as I don't have reservations. Terri has served our party all the time and I have to say, he is the rudest, condescending, unhelpful, bar tender I ever met. I love the restaurant and food but Terri either needs to change his attitude or leave. He makes unwelcoming comments and facial expressions that you wonder why you end up coming. I dread seeing him or be in close proximity of him. My party has said the same thing about him.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Seriously Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

So, this restaurant is the complete deal: unreal menu, warm service, fabulous cocktails and wine, and fine ambiance. We went here for dinner and found it to live up to every great review I'd read. I had the orchieta (sp?) with broccoli and sausage and other went for more adventurous fare. All in all, we found everything pitch perfect. You will need to make reservations ahead of time as this is now a fairly hot spot. It's worth the wait and the effort to get in. I wish I was there right now.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giulia also viewed

Cambridge, MA
Cambridge, MA
 

Been to Giulia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giulia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.