We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Custom Pizza !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Za

Za
138 Massachusetts Ave, Arlington MA, Cambridge, MA 02474
(781) 316-2334
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 553 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Custom Pizza !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Several people told me I absolutely had to try this small restaurant "Za" in Arlington, MA. We were pleasantly surprised by the cool atmosphere, and the pizza's listed on the menu could actually be customized. You could mix and match and create your own pizza. The Salads were magnificent. Especially the Cucumber, olive, radish salad with fresh oregano and feta cheese sitting on a bed of cold mashed potatoes was delicious. Who would ever think of doing that with mashed potatoes. The ingredients were fresh, portions were great. We ordered 3 salads with 2 10" pizza's and it was perfect for 4 of us. Our server was friendly, explained the mix and match idea and when he knew it was our first time, he spent more time telling us about the restaurant. We will definitely go back there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    31
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Loved It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

food was great...even tho only pizza and salad...very fresh and interesting presentation...ate there 3 nights! good wine also and excellent service

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxford, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Completely surprised.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We had tickets to a show at the Regent Theatre and stopped here for a bite to eat first. We ordered two salads and one pizza. The pizza was a bit unusual, bacon and potato, so we were looking forward to it, but the salads arrived first and we were amazed. They were in the shape of a cylinder, with not that many greens. My friend's was composed of beets, apples, hazelnuts, and goat cheese. I ordered a 'nightly special' with squash, apples, walnuts, and smoked gouda. It was the most unique, and possibly one of the best salads I ever ate. Because of the shape, it appeared smallish, but there was plenty there and we were both too stuffed for dessert. The pizza was also delicious, but I would definitely go back for the salad alone. It was early when we arrived, so the place was quiet. Very clean. Service was friendly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good and interesting pizzas and salads”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We got a bunch of takeout for a party at a friends house. The different pizzas (potato, macaroni and cheese, and custom deep dish) were each very good. The salads, particularly the beet one, were a big hit. The only caution is that the price/calorie (or price/pizza size) ratio is pretty high. Still, it's good stuff and there's no reason not to try it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston Ma
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pizza, pizza, yum, yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We are locals and love coming here. We eat a lot of pizza, but this is where we go for more special occassions. The menu is simple - pizzas and salads - but everything is really good. My favorite salad is the beet and goat cheese, but I have had all of them, and can recommend every single one. The pizzas are not too big, which is nice becuase you can get a few for sharing. The crust is delicious, and the toppings are always very fresh. You really can't go wrong. Good selection of wines by the glass and beer. Dessert is fine, but we usually go out for ice cream instead.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Za also viewed

Cambridge, MA
Cambridge, MA
 

Been to Za? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Za, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.