We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really disappointed!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bertucci's

Bertucci's
21 Brattle St, Cambridge, MA 02138-3709
(617) 864-4748
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #162 of 538 restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Really disappointed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We moved to the Boston area from Maryland and one of our favorite restaurants in MD was Bertucci's. On a recent trip to Harvard Square, we decided to have dinner at Bertucci's. We were really disappointed. Service was very poor. The place was really packed but that is no excuse for good service. If a restaurant knows they are a typically busy place on a Saturday night, then they should be well equipped for a large crowd. It didn't even seem like they were short handed because we had several servers through out the evening and none of them knew what was going on. There were 8 of us in my party and with the exception of one, me, the rest ordered pizza which was average. I ordered salmon which was really overcooked and I ordered asparagus and roasted vegetables. My dish came with potatoes and green beans which i could not eat due to allergies which i specified from the very beginning. When I told my server, he responded with, "your asparagus is being heated up!" WHAT? heated up? why? cause you forgot and it sat on a counter for 15 minutes? When I got my asparagus, i asked where were my roasted vegetables and the guy said, "i"ll be back!" By now everyone had finished their supper and I said forget about it. Now they did end up bringing them out to me in a to go box and they did deduct something from our bill. I think we won't be going back to this particular Bertucci's in the future!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    7
    17
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I highly recomment it for italian food. I like their pizza and other specialities. They make such a great food food for good prices.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, clean but some dishes can be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Went there for a business lunch with a colleague.

The bread rolls (no charge) served with olive oil was amazing and I had to stop myself from eating it all and ask for more.
We toke a side dish of mushrooms which was tasty and for our main dishes we ordered the Gratinati and the Bello Italiano (Grilled Portobello mushroom with fresh mozzarella, tomatoes, baby field greens and basil mayo). The Gratinati was good (according to my colleague).
The Bello Italiano was passing, not more. The bread was oily and the Grilled Portobello mushroom was really cold. All in all I definitely enjoyed the place and will come back (especially for the amazing bread rolls) but I hope that next time the main dish would be prepared better

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Our standard for great pizza and pasta dishes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

This is a long-overdue review of an excellent chain of Italian restaurants. My only complaint is that their restaurants are so very far away from where we're now living in Florida!

The best Bertucci's we've experienced have been on Brattle Square in Cambridge, Mass and in downtown Lexington, Mass, each an oasis that we're always delighted to visit. I would normally get their Tuscan minestrone, thick and delicious, then if we were doing pizzas, my wife would tend to get a margherita while I varied from the quattro stagionni to the melanzane (eggplant). Yum.

But perhaps my favorite dish is their rigatoni abruzzi, made with roasted peppers and sweet Italian sausage. This, after trying many dishes from their extensive menu over the years. Our sons tend to split between the rigatoni abbruzzi and the pizzas.

For some reason, we've been happier with the smaller Bertucci's as they seem warmer, more intimate, with better service than, let's say, the large Bertucci's that can be found in cities like Boston where they do a significant volume but without that cozy hometown brick oven pizza ambiance that we love.

Highly recommended! So how about opening up in southern Florida, guys?

  • Visited November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

After our tour of Harvard, we were just walking around looking for somewhere to have lunch and walked past Bertucci's and glad we did. Great food, good service and nice atmosphere. You wold be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bertucci's also viewed

 
Cambridge, MA
Cambridge, MA
 

Been to Bertucci's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bertucci's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.