We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great surprise to the palette and the wallet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Border Cafe

Border Cafe
32 Church St, Cambridge, MA 02138-3768
617-864-6100
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 556 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A great surprise to the palette and the wallet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Located in Cambridge off of the Main Street, this place is certainly not a secret especially on the weekends. The margaritas were reasonably priced and helped pass the time as we waited for our table. We all liked to hot, fresh chips that were served as we waited as well. The dishes that went by all looked and smelled very good. At our table we had vegetarian empanadas (4 large ones served with sour cream and guacamole), Mexican hamburger (great size with great toppings and lots of shoe string fries), Burro (great taste, great black beans and rice as sides) and gumbo (a nice surprise on the menu and the bowl was a good portion for a light dinner or for a diner that ended up sampling all the other dishes on the table).

The food all tasted like it was prepared fresh and with quality ingredients and all were priced at half the cost of the average restaurants in the area. There was even a side of jumbalya big enough for 2 at under $4 which I will try at my next visit.

The portions were more than adequate as we brought food home. The atmosphere was lively and our waitress was wonderful. I am looking forward to my next visit there.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    146
    57
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Value, Great Margaritas...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have returned to the Border Cafe three times when visiting our daughter at college in Boston. It's a short hop across the river to this loud and lively spot, which has great mexican and pretty good cajun food, delicious margaritas and terrific service...all at a price that makes it a favourite with college students and families alike. Plan on a short wait, but the staff is great about managing your expectations on how long it will take to get a table. On this visit there was a hiccup when our pager wasn't working and they did skip us on the list...but once they realized it the manager was very apologetic and gave us a couple of free appetizers which more than made up for the mistake. Our server was attentive, especially considering how busy the night was and unfailingly cheerful. The food, as always was excellent - from the more standard cheese enchiladas our daughter had to the fresh and light Swordfish tacos Vera Cruz with a great mango salsa and grilled avocado half that was fantastic. The list of margaritas is long and both their house margarita and the texas margarita are terrific. A great place to try if you are in Boston of Cambridge!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
1 review
“Loved the food and ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I was visiting Boston for the first time and my local friend took me here. The ambiance is awesome, young college going chic crowd. The food is great here. The food portions are big as well.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Delicious, Affordable Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The quantities here are very generous for a very affordable price. The quality of the food is great and authentic. Not to mention endless chips and salsa to boot. Great festive environment with clean and friendly servers. Location is right in the heart of Harvard Square and a stone's throw away from Harvard Business School.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Blown away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Really tasty food and outstanding value to be had. I've not been able to find better value for money anywhere in New England. Good portion sizes even for the cheaper dishes.

Homemade guacamole is recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Border Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Border Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Border Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.