We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuffed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Border Cafe

Border Cafe
32 Church St, Cambridge, MA 02138-3768
617-864-6100
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 559 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Essex
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Stuffed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We found this place on route to the Harvard Student Tour. We decided to eat in Cambridge rather than Boston figuring we'd find some cheap eats being a student town... we weren't expecting the food to be this good though!

We were promptly presented with the two largest diet cokes in history and a huge basket of nachos and salsa. Delicious. I ordered the beef quesadilla with a side of guacamole and sour cream and couldn't get even halfway through! My husband had enchiladas which were equally yummy. The portions are big enough to share if you're only looking for a light lunch.

The best bit was the bill - we had eaten to the point where we could hardly move and all for the bargain price of about $25 including tip.

This is a great little cafe - really bright and fun with a good atmosphere. I can imagine it's a good hang out for students or those on a night out. Great food, good service and cheap as anything.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    151
    59
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere, so-so food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I like Border Café and would like to give it a better rating. It's a fun sort of place that gives me a kind of nostalgic feeling somehow. It's huge inside, with seating at ground level and downstairs. It's loud and therefore a good place to go with a big group.

The problem is that I feel the food is somewhat too American, and is far from the best Mexican I've had.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butare, Rwanda
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“You Can Get Mexican Anywhere...But You Should Get It Here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I didn't actually go in May 2012. It's been years, possibly 8 since I've been. They took us two years in a row on Spanish field trips in high school. Man, were the French students jealous...and they had good reason to be. This is a solid Mexican restaurant. The burritos, as I recall, are huge and delicious. Tacos are good, fajitas, enchiladas...it's all good. I've never even tasted the margarita. Now I want to. Maybe when I am home to visit I'll hit this place up. It's actually right by Veggie Planet, and next to Fire and Ice. If you were with a huge party, you could even split up, because you just can't go wrong here in Harvard Square.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Good Tex-Mex food. Enjoyed beef fajitas with a bottle of Dos Equis Amber. They easily accommodated our party of twelve on a busy Saturday afternoon. I have this one bookmarked.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“crowded, noisy but good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We went there several times. I like the food and beer, place if often packed and noisy, prices are OK. Would recommend this but it is not very special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Border Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Border Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Border Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.