We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zaftig's in Brookline--a much better choice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of S&S Restaurant

S&S Restaurant
1334 Cambridge Street, Cambridge, MA 02139
617-354-0777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #223 of 554 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bakery, Diner, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Boston, MA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Zaftig's in Brookline--a much better choice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Our last visit to S&S Deli was consistent with our last few visits. Everything from being denied our choice of booth location to the absence of friendly service and food below par has caused us to reconsider dining here anymore. We have been S&S enthusiasts for more than 25 years and, in the last couple of years, we've noticed a steep decline in all of the above. In fact, we had pastrami sandwiches on our last visit--a treat for me because of the calories--and it was laden with fat....more fat than meat; I couldn't finish it. It feels like the family has lost their passion for their business; they just seem to be "getting by" these days.

On the other hand, we have had two delightful experiences at Zaftig's in Brookline. Yesterday, we shared an overstuffed corned beef sandwich, which was tasty and thinly sliced, and served on fresh marble rye. It was accompanied by a pickle and yummy potato salad. We also ordered a fresh mixed green salad, which was huge and delicious. The server even split everything for us without adding on one of those ridiculous sharing fees. A glass of wine each--very reasonably priced--and we were completely satisfied. We recommend saying "hello" to Zaftig's and farewell to S&S...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    23
    20
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Used to be my fav spot for cheap eats...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The food was good, but I was barely able to enjoy my meal due to all the gnats flying around. Yuck! This used to be my favorite spot for a cheap tasty lunch, but I cannot go back until they get the pest situation under control.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Refuge, Comfort Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Originally founded by matriarch Ma Edelstein the S&S(pun intended)is decorated with large format black and white photographs of Inman Square as it has changed through the decades.
We have been dining here for years. It is a neighborhood gem, always congenial and source of comfort food. The wait staff is very stable; they seem to like working here so they stay. The menu is large and varied. While it is no longer strictly speaking a Jewish Deli the menu certainly has plenty of traditional items. There is a friendly bar as well: nice place to watch a Sox game.
The food is good, reasonably priced and served by a staff that can be a lot of fun. They've seen a lot!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boucherville, Canada
1 review
“Good variety of food, crab casserole is verry generous in crab”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We went with two kids and enjoy verry much the menu and generosity.
Only problem is: They don't have kids menu. They can make for you smaller portion.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic deli, bagels and lox!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Delis with good bagels and lox are tough to find outside of Brookline. S&S has great matzo ball soup and it is a delicious trip.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed S&S Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to S&S Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage S&S Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.