We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, bad atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Punjabi Dhaba Restaurant

Punjabi Dhaba Restaurant
225 Hampshire St, Cambridge, MA 02139-1306
617-547-8272
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 553 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food, bad atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The place is about 15 minutes away from Harvard Square.
The place looks awful, loud indian punjabi TV is on playing Indian music.
Place is very small and uncomfortable.
The first sign of a potential good food was Indians customers waiting like you for ordering at the register.
The place accepts cash only.
I ordered the Chicken Tikka Masalla and payed extra for a Naan.
Since there was a line, it took a while for the food to be ready (they yells your order number) so I waited while suffering from the awful loud TV.
The food was very good, the Naan was great.
You get a plate with rice, the chicken and yogurt (which was ok).
The tikka masalla was very good, not too much creamy which is perfect and leaves you with taste for more.
Dish was average size and it was not expensive.
Total order was 11$ with the extra Naan order.
If you are hungry and your hotel/home is close - request a take away...
if not (like me) suffer quietly from the atmosphere for a very good Indian dinner.
I would recommend if you are feeling for some Indian.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    37
    10
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cowes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Superb Indian Street Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

More of a take out than restaurant although they do have a few tables. Hugely busy and understandably so as the food here is superb. We are from England where we have virtually more Indian restaurants than anything else but this was some of the best we have ever had. Really fresh and wonderful flavours. Often average Indian food has pretty much one sauce with different things added but not here - real care was taken in authentic preparation and it was cheap too. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fast, easy, cheap Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This place is so good. They have so many options and everything I've ever order has been spectacular. The aloo gobi is really good and so is anything that has paneer in it. The lamb korma and rogan josh are also really delicious. Everything is served on a metal tray with some sides like pickled onions. The prices are so good for a large amount of food and they're so fast. The only drawback is they only take cash, but if you come prepared, it's obviously not an issue Highly recommend this place!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Tasty food at dirt cheap cost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

If you are in Cambridge and craving for Indian food, this is probably a great place to eat. For the price, they serve really good quality and quantity of food. My friends and I ordered Chicken Karai, Paneer Chilli Masala, and mango lassi and we were totally satisfied with what we paid for. The crappy part is that they do not accept credit/debit cards.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Best cheap Indian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

There's really no reason to rely on reviews to determine if this place is worth going to. The food is so cheap that you might as well just come out and try it for yourself. It's fairly authentic Indian food, nothing fancy and there's no gimmick to this place. It's just cheap, quick, and filling. I usually get the Aloo Saag (or something? it's potatoes and spinach) and sometimes throw in some naan or a samosa. They'll give you a number and call it when your food is ready. The restaurant looks really small from outside and it is, but there is some additional seating upstairs. The food is delicious, and for $6 the aloo saag can't be beat!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punjabi Dhaba Restaurant also viewed

 
Cambridge, MA
 

Been to Punjabi Dhaba Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punjabi Dhaba Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.