We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oleana

Oleana
134 Hampshire St, Cambridge, MA 02139-1421
617-661-0505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Oleana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 539 restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Btw. Prospect & Columbia
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wow.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were wandering around Cambridge looking for a place to eat. My wife was coming down with a cold and we just wanted a quick place that might have even decent food. We came across Oleana, obviously highly ranked, and said let's go!

I didn't even know what I was getting in to since she was the one that was doing the quick restaurant research. We got there about 8pm on a Saturday night. Had to wait for about 15min for a bar seat. Highly suggest making reservations if you don't want to eat at the bar. It was packed and there were a lot of people waiting. Luckily we were just two people.

On to the food. WOW. This is the best Turksih/mediterranean food I've ever had. Spices were ultra fresh and across the board the food had some of the most outstanding flavors I've ever had.

We had the saganaki with figs, moussaka, sword fish. All were simply excellent.

It's a small, cozy dining experience. Don't expect this to be a very luxurious dining experience. That's not what they're going for. It's fun, small and delicious. Can't go wrong here. This is a MUST GO when you're in Cambridge.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    239
    50
    29
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hoover, Alabama
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Highly rated but it didn't measure up on our visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I chose Oleana because it was so highly rated by the paper and other reviewers. We were disappointed. The appetizers were pretty good, but the dinners were just OK. Nothing to brag about. Two of us had fish dishes that were rather bland. One had a daily special that was also poorly seasoned. One asked to have something deleted from a dish (pancetta), and the server came back and said the chef could not accommodate that request. Suggests to me that much of the food is pre-made and then reheated, or that the chef is tempermental. You had to meet the needs of customers who are trying to eat healthier. Service was a little slow. Overall, we paid too much for a meal that was mediocre.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Can You Give 6 Stars?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I love small plates rather than entrees and this took it to the next level---with fresh local ingredients. It is small and crowded. It is crowded because it is so good. Servers are great and some how your order comes to you because if you have 8 dishes you may have 8 servers. The kitchen runs well. It seemed like our food came out in pairs. This included the warmed olives with a spice on top. The warming of them brought out flavor. The humus was unbelievable. We also had lamb sliders, a cheese plate, a beef dish and a few others. My daughter topped it off with baked Alaska done in individual portions. We rated one thing average all night---the white bread in the bread tray. The brown bread was outstanding. Two people and 8 dishes and nothing short of excellent!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Excellent!!! Highly Recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is the first time I have EVER rated a restaurant 5 star. It is excellent. However, it is not a perfect dining experience and so I will start with who should NOT go here:

1) Do not go if you demand or expect luxury. This is NOT a fine dining establishment. It is very nice and tastefully decorated, it is small, the tables are close together. Parking is limited; there is no valet.

2) Do not go if you are not an adventuresome eater. The food is Turkish-Armenian-Greek-Levantine Arab. It is spiced; it is creatively prepared.

3) Although based on T-A-G-LA cuisines, do not go if you are looking for your Mom's version of classic dishes or home cooking or the stuff you got at a local falafel place. The chefs put an original spin on everything.

I know Middle Eastern food. Lived there for a year; travelled there regularly for 40 years. My wife is an excellent cook of ME origin. Oleana's food is a strong contender against my wife's cooking. We decided to do mezze (appetizer) dishes only. Our table of 3 ordered 8-10 dishes and we were stuffed. Oleana does a twist on the classics. For example, we had the moussaka. Instead of the usual béchamel sauce, it had a green fava bean puree cooked as the top. The Greek olives had zaatar on them. Not sure what was done to the Imam Bayaldi (one of my favorite eggplant dishes), but it was spiced a little differently than I am used to. The falafel was made with spinach added and served on lavash instead of pita. Sarma was not a stuffed vegetable, but a pastry stuffed with grilled green beans. Saganaki was not flamed but warmed and served with dried fruits. Everything was served at the appropriate temp. Service was very attentive and helpful. Waiters explained everything that needed explanation and were not condescending.

I have 2 complaints:
1) The wine list: it seemed most prices were quadruple retail rather than 2-3 times as I usually see them. Worse, the cheaper selections were among the worst. You can get some very good bottles for $9-12 at retail which should translate to $27-36 at a restaurant. I didn't see any of them here. We had a French sparkling rose. We would have preferred a good, cheaper prosecco or cava. (beers were reasonable, by the way)
2) The bread: we got no pita, but rather a variety of thicker breads the consistency of a corn bread. It was not really suitable for eating with the various dips we ordered. This could be improved.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashland, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I went to this restaurant a few years ago and just saw that this place is number one and wanted to share my experience. I went with 3 of my friends, appetizers were great, service was great but when we got our entrees, we all got the Salmon dish( i am not sure if they still offer it now) we took a few bites and immediately told our waiter that none of us liked the dish, he asked if we wanted something else instead we said another round of the same apps(we knew we liked the apps and didn't want to choose something we would not like ..again). When the bill comes , the 4 salmon dishes were included in our bill plus the food we got instead. I have worked at restaurants for 10 years and have always comped the meals that were not liked or touched. This left me shocked, bad customer service in that sense.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oleana also viewed

 
Cambridge, MA

Been to Oleana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oleana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;