We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I proposed to my wife here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oleana

Oleana
134 Hampshire St, Cambridge, MA 02139-1421
617-661-0505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Oleana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 554 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Btw. Prospect & Columbia
Boston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I proposed to my wife here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Starting with the wedding proposal a few years back, it's been the go to restaurant for our special occasions. Recently we went for her birthday and finally got to sit outside on the patio. It's worth getting an early reservation to do this. My wife really likes the ever-changing vegetarian tasting menu. I can't remember the exact name of it, but there was an appetizer who's main ingredient was quail and it was mind-blowing. Also, don't leave without trying the baked alaska for dessert.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    53
    31
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
southern California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What a treat for the taste buds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

It is not that easy to get reservations for Oleana but worth the effort. The food is exquisite. The dishes are exotic and at times simple with fabulous results. People who enjoy truly nuanced cooking will pleased here. Have a look at the menu on their website and you will fret that you cannot eat all those dishes in one night. The wines are good and are interesting. Most come from the Iberian peninsula and pair well with the dishes we had. Two desserts were ordered and enjoyed and that is only because we could not eat more of them. The dessert menu stays with the dinner menu stride for stride. The service was friendly and quietly efficient. We dined insidein the dining room of wood, cushions and warm lighting.We cannot wait to return to try more of the menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“fabulous food, lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

we came early to secure a table on the lovely terrace. Enjoyable seating in a casual atmosphere. We ended up ordering several appetizers, to share tapas style. This worked well, as the wait staff paced our meal perfectly, and we got to sample a variety of perfectly prepared tasteful bits. It is impossible to pick a favorite, but the fried mussels and the Sultan's Delight stand out. It was nice to start with the whipped feta and carrot puree. We are planning our next dinner at Oleana.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Creative & Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Oleana is one of our favorites. It continues to create new offerings and present fresh seasonal food from their farm and other places. The soft shell crab entree was simply sensational and contained a lot of fresh vegetables. They have so many wonderful starters that it would be fun and immensely satisfying to make a meal out of the starters and desert. The service was, as in the past, superb. Oleana shows how to use spices in food without making the food spicy hot; their use of spices is very imaginative and also extremely satisfactory to the taste buds.
The only criticism one can have is the close quarters in the seating areas makes it difficult to have a private conversation and the seats against the walls are a tad uncomfortable.We liked the fact that they now have a private parking lot.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Creative, Delicious, Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Both classic and innovative, richly-flavored and perfectly-prepared Mediterranean-inspired dishes. Can do all small plates. Welcoming and helpful wait staff. Reasonable wine selections.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oleana also viewed

 

Been to Oleana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oleana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.