We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky grill restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East Coast Grill

East Coast Grill
1271 Cambridge St, Cambridge, MA 02139-1338
617-491-6568
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
East Coast Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #116 of 554 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $31 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Prospect St
Transit: Cambridge St @ Prospect St (69) Cambridge St @ Hampshire St (69) Cambridge St @ Springfield St (69)
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Funky grill restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Food was superb though prices on the upside. Environment was cozy. Bar excellent, raw clams superb. Service excellent. Will go again there with friends.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    63
    36
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My Favorite Restaurant - Anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I wonder it's possible to objectively evaluate a restaurant that you've been to over many years, mostly for special events, or good friends in town? But that's what I was asked about today - "what's your favorite restaurant"?

I would not claim this restaurant has the "best food" in Cambridge, nor that it is on some cutting edge. I would argue the value is excellent, that neither myself nor my guests have ever had less than a great meal. The food is simple, the tastes intense; service nearly always excellent.

I have taken BBQ fans, vegetarians, seafood people; everyone finds something they enjoy in these categories.

I have been a customer since they opened, seen chefs rise through it and start their own places, probably even had the same waitresses many times. For what it's worth, I think there's a spirit to the place that transcends the food; there are those who argue that the strength is seafood rather than BBQ (what brings me back). But the Damn Good Fries are just that, Hell Night is for those who know their Scoville Units (and thus not for everyone, especially those with native New England palettes).

I have been and continue to be a fan. The place makes me happy. Some nights - indeed, most nights - that's the most important thing. That's why I go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I love this restaurant. Everything they serve, from oysters and seared tuna, to pulled pork and ribs, is absolutely delicious. The servers are always friendly and attentive, and the atmosphere is great. I've never had a bad meal at the East Coast Grill!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“No as good as expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My team had dinner at ECG Tuesday night after finding it on Yelp.
We all sampled the ribs and found them very dry and tough. My colleague ordered a side of beans and described them as not fully cooked and the texture was too firm to tollerate.
I had the BBQ Smoked Chicken and a single rib. The chicken was drizzled in a spicey sauce. I thought it was good tasting, but dry. I doubt we would go back again.

Service was good and prompt.

The Cambridge Pumpkin Ale is not that great too malty. It was more of an earthy saison.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Oh man Hell Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

So good. The food was wicked spicy, the decor and music were cool. But best of all, the food was just awesome, spicy and delicious. I am definitely coming back here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Coast Grill also viewed

 

Been to East Coast Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Coast Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.