We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding lamb pasta!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Red House

The Red House
98 Winthrop St, Cambridge, MA 02138-4930
+1 617-576-0605
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Red House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 538 restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: JFK Street and Eliot Street
Transit: "T" Red Line to Harvard Square
Description: The Red House specializes in locally-sourced, European & Mediterranean inspired cuisine. Our seasonally changing menus features a variety seafood, poultry, and pasta dishes, many of which are prepared with greens and vegetables from our organic farm in Winchendon, MA. In crafting the restaurant's menu, owner Paul Overgaag and executive chef Marc Plourde have chosen to bring fresh organic foods and locally produced ingredients to center stage. In addition to our main dining room and bar-area, the Red House also contains three intimate private dining rooms which can comfortably seat between 8 and 14 guests. Perfect for your next family or business gathering, each of our three private rooms features authentic period detail, with fireplaces and original wide pine floorboards and woodwork. Additionally, we are able to provide customized-set menus for private diners and events as needed.
ypsilanti
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Outstanding lamb pasta!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Good service, cozy inside seating and casual fun outdoor space. An eclectic menu but apps and mains all well done. Veggie spring roll worth coming back for, lobsters looked good and people were clearly polishing them off, pasta dishes very well prepared.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    46
    41
    11
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Great Bread and Salads”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Their bread and Olive Oil was some of the best I have had and worth every carb!!!

I had the Kale Salad and it was very good. My wife had the Dandillion salad and it was bitter but good.

I had the Swordfish (smaller portion) and the side vegetables were very good. My wife and cousin had the Cod and my cousin said it wasn't as good as it usually was. My son had the Baked Lobster and it was good (not great).

But the Kale and the bread were incredible! And our server was excellent and very friendly!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had lunch here on a hot day in May. Service was friendly and informative. Good selection of beers and wine. Food delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch on outdoor patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stumbled upon this place after exploring Harvard. It was a beautiful sunny day so we opted to sit on the patio. Our waitress was very sweet and lovely. I had a really good martini and hubby had a cold beer. Also had really fresh raw oysters which are super cheap. Both our meals were very good. It was all round a very nice, pleasant experience. Would go back again for sure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delray beach fl
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delightful experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The best part about our dinner at The Red House was the private room. We were a party of 8 - parents, sister & significant other and 2 kids and their fiancees all converging from different states. It was like being in your own dining room - only you didn't have to cook or clean! Our 'room' was upstairs with an oval tiger wood table, fire place with candles and a variety of vintage musical instruments displayed on the walls. Everyone enjoyed their meals ranging from: beet salad, scallops, pasta and small plate grilled salmon. There were no complaints and everyone had a clean plate. It was delightful for us to be able to dine together without the noise or hustle and bustle of an interior dining room atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Red House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.