We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, coffee & pastries-but pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tatte Cambridge

Tatte Cambridge
318 Third Street, Cambridge, MA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 538 restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: phone 6173544200
Lynn, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great, coffee & pastries-but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great French roast coffee, cappuccino & latte & their nut baskets & croissants are superb. The only issue here is that the prices are on the high side ($4.25 for an almond croissant) & there are usually lines for coffee so it takes a while. If you work/live in the Kendall Square, 3rd St area, this is the place to get yourself a good cup of java. Pastries if your budget allows.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    20
    8
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Exquisite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is what *food* should taste like! Pastries were delicious--my favorite was the Chocolate Rose. I might have to go back o Cambridge just to eat that again.

You can tell each dish is made with good ingredients and care. The middle Eastern platter was the best I've had anywhere. Pita was wonderfully fluffy and the hummus and baba ghanoush, amazingly delicious.

Thank you, Tatte!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent sandwiches, great coffee, lively atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We went there yesterday (Sunday) with two friends around 1:30 pm. The place was packed but soon four places opened at the communal table. Among the four of us we tried four different sandwiches, several different coffee drinks, and a few pastries. We loved the Savich and the Balkani sandwiches both featuring eggplant in some unusual combinations. In addition to eggplant, the Savich also had egg and cucumber and the Balkani had feta cheese, tomatoes, and pesto. We loved both combinations as they reminded us of Balkan/Mediterranean cuisine. The meat ball sandwich was juicy and flavorful while the fresh mozzarella in the mozzarella sandwich was indeed very fresh. All the sandwiches were rather large and filling. The coffee drinks were great -- I highly recommend the Illy espresso. The pastries were delicious although I only had a bite because I was so full from my sandwich.

This is a very lively, loud, fast-paced and happening place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hard to resist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Living just in front of this bakery, it has become more and more difficult each day not to stop there to grab something. We usually go there just for a slice or two of cake (cheesecake, chocolate mousse cake, apple/pear tarts) to go, but occasionally also for the Saturday or Sunday brunch (try the Shakshuka). Needless to say, all is excellent, even if I can be a bit pricey.
Finding a place to sit can be a little bit tricky though, but you generally can make it, at least for brunch (I can't speak about weekdays lunch, since I don't work in the neighborhood).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma city
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Excellent food! Highly recommend. Their specialty was a nut pastry which was delicious. Breakfast chocolate "bomb" was also very good.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tatte Cambridge also viewed

Cambridge, MA
Cambridge, MA

Been to Tatte Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tatte Cambridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.